Wise People Write About Sex

Kim Petersen
Sexual Tendencies
Published in
6 min readDec 28, 2020

--

And we don’t care if you don’t like it.

Photo by Farrinni on Unsplash

I’m flattered you’re here. Really. I get it. We seem to have adopted a notion in that wise people are usually quite humdrum, principled and sober with a sense of humor like sour milk.

That’s not you, though, is it?

Some people don’t like that I write about sexuality from time to time, using my body of work and creative expression as some kind strategic attempt to judge, ridicule and mess with my personal life.

I guess it happens to the best of us — or rather, those of us who have the courage to write what we want; freely expressing ourselves through our creativity without concern for the opinions of others.

As it is, I am going to go ahead and suggest that the above-mentioned would-be do-gooders avoid reading my shit. But I’m not daft enough to actually think that will happen because the prospect of gathering snark on me is just too good to resist for some.

*Sigh*

What is it about sex that gets people all knicker-tied and prancy, anyway?

As if it isn’t a natural part of being human.

I am certain that I am not the only writer here who cops flak because we write about sex. At least, those among us who don’t write under a pen name.

--

--

Kim Petersen
Sexual Tendencies

Award-winning & Bestselling Author | HH Prac. (Hol.Meta.Heal) | Writing About Soul. Love. Humor. Spirituality. Life. Relationships | https://kimpetersen.com.au/