SF Cooking School
SF Cooking
Published in
4 min readJul 28, 2015

--

At San Francisco Cooking School we say often that we train cooks, not chefs. But, what’s the difference? In our How a Cook Becomes a Chef series, we ask some of our favorite chefs their thoughts on the matter.

Alex Ong is no stranger to SF Cooking School. On any given week he can be found teaching our pro culinary students how to make homemade ramen, or introducing rec students to the wonders of homemade pho.

For years he was at the helm of Betelnut, bringing bold and flavorful Malaysian dishes to SF, and since then has acted as a chef consultant for restaurants looking to tap into his wealth of knowledge on Asian cuisine.

Alex is not only a wonderful chef and teacher, he is a lifelong student. Read more about how his philosophy on always learning has shaped his career:

What differentiates a Cook and a Chef? Why is this important and how does it manifest itself in your kitchen?

“The chef is the face and leader of the kitchen. The chef sets the mission and goals for the establishment. The cooks are the ones who carry out the mission every shift.

Both the mission and goals have to be very clear and the cooks have to believe in them. I always say that if my cooks do not believe in me, I’ll just be a guy with an idea.

I communicate my message to my staff through hands on instructions, demonstrations, team discussion, and by working side by side with them, coaching them and encouraging them to make split second decisions. Even when they make the wrong decision, I don’t just correct them but tell them why and show them a better way.”

Looking at the progress of your own career, at what point did you consider yourself a chef?

“The obvious one is when they handed me the keys to the place & told me not to burn the kitchen down :-)

To be honest, I never really consider myself a chef. The older I get, the more I travel, and the more I see and taste, the more I realize that I do not know anything. There are so many great food and cooking techniques out there and I still have so much to learn and grow as a culinarian. I love to share what I know with anyone who is interested. Good food is meant to be shared at a table. It brings the community together.”

What can a young cook do to become a great chef?

“Invest your time by working for great restaurants and chefs. Learn the trade, the skills, the art of cooking. Read a lot and volunteer. Then travel and see other countries, and explore their culture and food. Make friends and open your mind and heart. Ask lots of questions and stay away from those TV cooking/competition shows.”

Learn more about our Professional Culinary and Pastry Programs
at SF Cooking School.

Still Hungry? Follow Us: Twitter | Facebook | Blog | Instagram | LinkedIn

--

--