FIELD_INTEGRITY_EXCEPTION: Case Owner: id value of incorrect type — SOLVED!

Amit Arora
sfdcmastery
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2020

Have you seen this error before?

During a recent SFDC implementation for a client, I ran across this error.

Error Condition: Process Builder Flow

I noticed that this error was happening when we were trying to kick off a process builder flow to change ownership on the case object.

Once the case reached a certain status, we flipped the case owner to a Queue.

This seemed to work perfectly fine in the Dev org where I built this process.

The problem came when we moved it to UAT.

All of a sudden this error popped up.

Mind you everything was deployed successfully in UAT without any Validation errors.

This was a last-minute change, so we also deployed it to PROD.

We caught this error first in PROD during the validation process before we handed the project over to the business.

The Problem ⚠

After spending way more time than I’d like to admit, I tried something on a hunch.

This error was happening because when we moved changesets from Dev to UAT to PROD, a queue was being referenced in the Process Builder.

The Solution 💡

What I didn’t realize is that there is some weird caching issue with queues.

In my case, I had sent the Process Builder and the queues in the changeset.

What I didn’t realize is that the process builder was still referencing the queue from the Dev Org, hence the error.

So I had to create a new queue (with a different name) and change the value in my Set Conditions box with this new queue.

And that did the trick 💃🕺

Comment below what are some of your challenges with Process Builder.

👉👉 Get Your Free Admin 201 Mock Test Questions Here 👈👈

--

--

Amit Arora
sfdcmastery

6X Salesforce ☁️ Certified | Certified Sales Cloud Consultant | Service Cloud Consultant | Community Cloud Consultant | Platform App Builder