Making Dad Proud- Pallavi Dani, Salesforce Developer

Zachary Jeans
SFIndiaTour
Published in
3 min readAug 23, 2016

--

Since I was in 8th grade, I have wanted to become an engineer. My idea was to focus mainly on computer engineering, because I saw it as a new and upcoming technology, and a challenge. I was able to pursue my education while working as a software developer in a small company.

While completing my education, I married. My new husband, parents and in-laws were very supportive of my education. While I faced many challenges due to work and study life, I am proud to say I went on to obtain my Engineering degree in 2009, as well as have my baby boy. Like so many other women, I left my job to focus on my baby and my family.

Then, in 2011, my husband was informed he would be on a project in the UK, so we went to Scotland for a year, then back to India, where we were informed he would be on a US project. All this travel to different countries made me realize that so many women in the world manage both work and home life, why not me? I kept my dream of being a developer in the back of my mind, though. As we were in the US, I was notified my dear father was diagnosed with stomach cancer. He endured an operation, which I was not able to travel to India to attend. I felt horrible, but was glad to learn my father recovered from the operation.

We returned to India in 2013, and with my dream in mind, I sought to re-enter the workforce. By this time, my son was starting school. Unfortunately, none of the software companies would employ me due to my career gap. Undeterred, I took a job in Human Resources. I knew giving up my dream of being a developer was only temporary. As fate would have it, my husband was assigned a project in Nagpur, our hometown!

There, I joined Relecotech Software as a Salesforce developer! I was so happy to be in the career of my dreams, and delighted that I could make my father proud as well. Unfortunately, amidst all the good news, we discovered my father’s cancer was back. He passed away in 2015. This was quite unexpected, as he appeared to be healthy compared with other patients. My father was a person with so much positive thinking and a strong will power, both of which allowed him to fight the years of cancer so bravely.

My father is my inspiration going forward, as I continue to pursue my dream of being a financially independent woman in my chosen career as a Salesforce Developer.

--

--

Zachary Jeans
SFIndiaTour

Facilitating conversations around Salesforce, Leadership, and Travel, with a passion for NonProfits.