School for Poetic Computation

Ruby Childs
Sfpc
Published in
2 min readOct 12, 2016

Over the past few weeks, I have moved my life back to NY to attend SFPC. For those of you who may not have heard about SFPC before, its a school for the intersection of art and technology and is a hybrid of a school, residency and research group.

Anyway here are some initial thoughts about what I want SFPC to be and what I plan to do!

What I want for SFPC to be?

I’d love to work and collaborate with others in an environment which encourages experimentation and fosters creativity. I want to very much learn through the process of doing, through being project based. I’d really like to be able to build skills out of my comfort zone as well as new technologies and help others in this learning process.

I also want to become brave in my own work and collaborate more. I feel I often hesitate or hold back with my ideas and it would be good to explore them and be in a nurturing environment where I can do this.

I’d hope to gain more quick prototyping abilities as well as come away with a few projects I can use for my own personal showcase. But even more than a showcase, for my own learning and pushing my own skills forward.

In summary:

  • Intersection of art and tech
  • Where people come from different backgrounds and bring different perspectives and experiences to learn from
  • Collaborative environment
  • Rapid learning
  • Explore my own creativity
  • Prototype and learn

What I want to learn and create?

Right now, I’m still scoping out my ideas. But below are a few area’s I’m interested in right now:

1. Automatic generation of objects to become in a physical form

  • I’d love to explore how we can take generative processes and provide them with both physical form, as well as actual everyday use.
  • I’ve worked at taking generative algorithms such as reaction diffusion and using laser cut for animate objects.
  • I’ve also worked at converting across shapes using super shape algorithm then conversion across to 3D printing.
  • Algorithms used so far have been based on Coding Rainbow.

2. Projection mapping

  • I’d love to understand how we can map visuals to walls of varying shapes (corners, windows).
  • How to take a 2D visual into the 3D world.

3. Live coding sound and visuals

  • I’ve been exploring briefly tools such as supercollider, sonic pi and FoxDot to create music. I’d like to really select a single UI and continue to use it.
  • FoxDot is less known and Python based, and I think it would be interesting to be able to generate music automatically alongside visual generation

4. Tensor flow

  • Given my background in data science and love of art, I’d like to explore Tensor Flows abilities in terms of artist generation. For example. See the work: http://arxiv.org/pdf/1508.06576v1
  • It also allows us to ask, what is art and creativity? Can anyone be an artist?

5. Space filling curves

--

--

Ruby Childs
Sfpc
Writer for

Feminist, Creative Technologist, Data Scientist, Print Artist, Foodie & explorer. Alumni @recursecenter, Organiser of @hackandtellLDN, @pydatalondon