About my dream

Shun John Iwase
Between Real and Ideal
2 min readApr 8, 2018

From this April, I got in the master course of computer science and became a member of the Yokota Lab in Tokyo Institute of Technology. When I was undergraduate, although I had had valuable experiences (Ex: Microsoft Imagine Cup World 2017, Development of iOS and web and backend applications), I was not able to dedicate myself to doing what I really want to do (Because of the lack of time and engineering skills and money).

But, Time has come!

Because of these experiences, all conditions are finally met to dedicate my whole time to doing what I really want to do.

Therefore I wrote this article to clarify “what I really dream of”.

My dreams are

  • Eliminating all chores and painful jobs which do not make people happy.
  • Realizing the future where everyone do what they want to do peacefully.

I will make every effort to make my dreams realized for the rest of my life. To realize it, I think I need to

  • Develop Artificial Intelligence which can do everything by him/herself.
  • Develop an Android(literally Android. Not means “Android” developed by Google)
  • Investigate human brain intelligence.

If the android which can do everything like human is realized, they release us from boring and painful jobs and we can concentrate on what I want to do (And probably machine will do better job than us). However, it’s very tough to do everything right now.

So for now, I

  • Research HPC and DNN etc…
  • Research Intelligence of human brain.
  • Develop Eva (Voice Operation Interface for Mac)

to know the essentials to develop Artificial Intelligence and Android. I believe that what I’m doing let me realize my dreams in the future. It may take very very long time, but I will make progress little by little.

Finally, I quote my favorite maxim of Alan Kay.

The best way to predict the future is to invent it.

I will pursue my dream with this maxim.

Thank you for reading this to the end.

--

--

Shun John Iwase
Between Real and Ideal

Software Engineer / Love Go, Python, C++ / Beginner of HPC and DNN / Imagine Cup World 2017 Japanese Representative