Quoting great minds

Kedar Nimkar
Shadja
Published in
1 min readDec 7, 2015

As a designer, I am inspired with awe what Steve Jobs has done with technology and design. But I would also like to point out one more genius of Indian Classical music who is equally great for me. It’s fascinating to know how their thoughts resonate.

I am talking about Pt. Kumar Gandharva. He was known as one of the most rebellious and yet the greatest legends of Hindustani Classical music; Vocalist. There is a nice interview of him which spans in 4 youtube videos. It’s in Marathi.

In that interview, Kumarji points out that he is strictly against farmaish (When people from audience request the performer to sing a song of their choice). He says “I know music better than you. You can’t tell me what you want to listen. I come prepared and I clearly know what I should make you listen. Artists who don’t know what to sing can ask for farmiash.”

This simply shows the greatness of the artist and the attitude he has. He understands, people don’t know what they want. People are too comfortable in their world and wish to be forever. But as an artist it’s the performer’s duty to enlighten audience with his work and show beauty in unseen places.

--

--