My Incorrect Assumptions About Boost VC

Loïc Ledoux
Shadow
Published in
5 min readNov 21, 2017
Boost VC Tribe8!

About a year ago, we graduated from Boost VC, which concluded three insane months that were a delightful combination of pressure and excitement that made me feel like I was on drugs almost every single day.

If you are not aware — for some shameful reason — Boost VC is THE Silicon Valley-based accelerator dedicated to startups that are “making sci-fi a reality”. Yes, that’s the official tagline, and I couldn’t find a better one :]

That includes startups working on blockchain, virtual reality, artificial intelligence or space. Those domains might look quite different from one another — and in many respects, they are. Yet, just a few days into the program, a strong common denominator became obvious. We were all leading highly ambitious projects in industries where the rules had yet to be written, and it takes a peculiar mindset to fight against such odds.

This is something I had not anticipated. And it’s not the only one.

In fact, HALF of my assumptions before joining Boost Tribe 8 were wrong. See for yourself.

What I Had Right

Powerful Network in VR/AR

This was one of the key reasons why we applied. At the time, we wanted to pitch our universal 3D avatar solution to the top VR/AR companies and influencers. I remember going to our first meeting with the Boost team with a long list of targets, determined to show that I did not come to mess around.

It turns out that half of the people on my list were either mentors or speakers who I would see shortly after. For the rest, not only it was possible to make intros, but they could also suggest other relevant people to talk to beyond my shortlist.

This was also true for investors. As you could guess from my introduction, the program gathers a specific breed of startups, all with very daring bets. We did not fit with the thesis of all early-stage investors, but the Boost team could filter the right people to talk to.

Working with the team before demo day

Being Slapped in the Face Regularly

If you run a startup, I am sure you know that feeling. You meet with someone, and just five minutes in, she understands all your company’s strengths and weaknesses, and hits all the raw nerves. You’re then challenged with super relevant questions before you’re left, breathless and with a steaming head.

As an early stage company, you have so many things to figure out, so this type of meeting is the best. You LISTEN, and you LEARN.

Normally, these encounters would happen once in a while, maybe a few times a month. While I was at Boost, it happened several times a week.

To be clear, it was not just about meeting people that would stop by the accelerator. We leveraged the network to meet with incredible people around town on a regular basis.

As exceptional as they are, no one told us exactly what to do. Yet, we were moving fast, experiencing a lot and talking to smart people about all sort of opportunities. These conversations clearly fast-tracked us to what we are doing today.

What I Had Wrong

E · MU · LA · TION

Of course, I knew that being part of an *accelerator* would be stimulating.

But not on THIS scale.

Have you seen the movie Troy? Yes, that one with Brad Pitt. There is a group of elite soldiers led by Achilles called the Myrmidons. They all have crazy fighting skills and an exceptional level of commitment. Well, it felt like we were in a group just like that, with this constant urge to be at the top of our game… (except that we call ourselves Boosties, which is less pretentious :D)

In our tribe, there were 16 teams from 20 countries, and every one of them had the bit between their teeth, striving to succeed day in and day out. Oh, and when I say, day in AND day out, I mean it literally. You could go to the Boost “Cave” at 2 am or 2 pm on any day of the week and find people working their asses off… or blowing some steam in VR!

wink wink

Believe me, I am not a genius by any standard, but what I have is discipline, a TON of it. So, I don’t need any external stimulus to get things done.

Yet, in such an environment, your motivation is constantly through the roof, and I recall that my productivity level was just insane… maybe unhealthily so… like Mario after a good old mushroom!

The Alumni

This was probably my biggest surprise.

Boost VC is not that old of a program — they enroll two tribes a year, and we were part of Tribe 8. Therefore, when we joined, I did not consider the alumni network to be a critical asset. I could not have been more wrong.

The trick is that the domains that Boost companies operate in are not that old either (VR, blockchain, bots, etc.) So, you can easily connect with a lot of other founders, who are likely the crème de la crème in your field. These people face similar challenges, can provide thorough feedback, and can make intros from San Mateo to Paris, São Paolo to Singapore, and even the Caribbean.

It is extremely valuable and can help you save time — which we all know is a pretty scarce resource for an early stage startup.

BONUS

On demo day, I met with so many incredible people.

One of those encounters was quite memorable. I had the chance to simultaneously pitch legendary investor Tim Draper and his just as remarkable father, veteran venture capitalist Bill Draper. I will always carry their words of advice :)

I couldn’t end this piece without giving a special thanks to the Boost team – Maddie Callander, Brayton Williams and Adam Draper – and also to my fellow Boosties!

And lastly, this post does not sum up the entirety of our experience at Boost. But considering the impact it had on us, I couldn’t let the 1-year mark pass without writing a little something about what we went through :D

--

--