Finest doggerels of all time

Shakti Shetty
Shaktian Space
Published in
4 min readNov 19, 2007

Weariness

I’m tired of the face I’ve got,

I’m tired of my heart inside

I’m tired of everything that breathes

I’m tired but I can’t go to sleep…

Better were the days, no more indeed

When I laughed at my present

& cried all night

At least no more was my grief to greet

Wasn’t I the only walking alone?

Slowly the ambiance showed its hue

And I lost my sanity to fate……

Some choose death and some choose life

and some get trapped in the gap within

none wants to die, for the love of life

all wish to survive and see all sides

how feeble man gets when the truth reckons

humble mind speaks, heart never listens

saga it is and saga do lie

our life is a beauty in the faintest light

we want the sun to never set,

neither the moon to get upset

our reasons are hapless and questions too

a few tried to change but died in the loop

God is kind but he is busy, sort of.

Drunks don’t go far

Drunks don’t go that far

They can’t move their dreams

They won’t die the day as well

For they wish to stay, not leave

Their friends are ever awake

The glasses, shades and drink

Drunks don’t go that far

They can’t move their dreams

They won’t die the day as well

For they wish to stay, not leave

Their friends are ever awake

The glasses, shades and drink!

Ending steps

This skin will nest maggots on end

No sign of me stays through long

My breath won’t kick dust, no more

Within it will move death inward?

Who was I ever to smell soil?

Besides the token name I’ve got

Few drops of cry won’t last

And some words of tales, lost

Under this cloud I had moved by

Sucked in air and warmth of light

Seen some dreams in dark night

Loved some, hated few all in life

May I’ll never return back in sight

May I’ll never see my face

May this stays the longest time

i ever thought i could make…

Forgotten days

‘Some days are meant to fade away

some roads we leave and move ahead’

these words were who consoled me then

can’t say the same right now again!

I do feel good to breath this life,

life that could’ve never touched my sight

but that smile do occurs at night

and that face which can’t lie

flooding my thoughts,

belying my convictions,

stabbing my freedom,

freedom to think the way I like!

Many eyes confronts and moves aside

but that smile stay on, alone

as if to provoke my careless state

and question me for my loneliness

innocence pervades bellicose debate

debate which wins down her gaze

can’t say how much I miss those days

better off like the man they dreamt,

albeit I can’t deny my dismal way

still that ‘sparkle niche’ brings disdain!

my head shuns onto higher aim,

aim to curb this baloney instead!

Friendship days

No days can match my days with you

filled my life with words and hue

you my friend, you know me good

may not remember the days we ruled

but I do, the moments had sped

we grew up tied up like fools!

had our times in bad and hope

you were there, as it always showed

a friend like you, needed, more than food

though my life has changed much

yet not seen anyone closer than you

your place is in my heart’s door

day to celebrate may come and go

but our friendship won’t escape this truth

we are and we will be as we should

held by breath and goodwill could,

never leave our touch for eternal world!

Mistaken

The sound that grumbles in my ear

are not the voice of song or odes

It is the deep pain of those in fear

out of their home and onto street

No one knows the grave reason

for this disruption and this commotion

yet going through this season

deepened in sanguine ocean…dead

permeated smell of blood on floor

someone, anyone, lets get forward

try out something, anything new

ask the killers to stop their bullets

“let my people on land live!”

the surly fever wraparound me

I hold a pen in my weak fingers

covered in shivers of shrouded cry

asking for kindness to smile.

Stains of war

Blood has spilled, rain bade bye

Sun still kissing the wounds alive

Roads are waiting, traveler’s unseen

Is it a beginning or end, it seems’

Days ago, kids were out

Days ago, kitchens smelt fine

Days ago, smiles did smiled

Days ago, veins flowed strong.

Story has changed, curtains stained

Some surviving on dusky breath

Others forsaken by angels of death

God visited but he too left

Didn’t say a word; simply wept.

Unheard words

These are just words…..endless words

Words that means none to some

Still for others, on abode of love

These are just words…..poems

Lost in middle of waves to clash

Just like words of budding truth

Alone nowhere in forest of wild fruits

Tasted sin and did some good

These words never meant so much

Between silence and chaos indeed.

--

--

Shakti Shetty
Shaktian Space

I am a Mangalore-based copywriter and a wannabe (published) writer and I blog randomly about not-so-random topics to stay insane.