Unsaid words, overfelt emotions

Shakti Shetty
Shaktian Space
Published in
3 min readFeb 6, 2020
You put a ring on it as a symbol of completion or because it’s hollow in the middle? [Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash]

Let’s talk about feelings today. That thing inside of us which wants to call the shot most of the time but seldom gets to. If all of us did how we feel like doing, we’d be living in a different world altogether; maybe a horrible case of Midsommar (2019). Only to keep ourselves sorted, we adhere to the principles of the established order. It’s not that we can’t go rouge. Excuse our generation, we might appear timid but we’ve got a plan in place. We primarily wish to conserve our craziness — we are not stupid, remember? — for deserving moments and/or candidates. Driving into the sunset deserves an equally efficient script. Until then, we while away our limited time on temporary projects like certificates, jobs, rents and bills.

Insofar, all these components lead to conversations that never happen and sentiments that are never expressed. To sketch you a picture, imagine a couple stuck in the wonderland of imagination; a city where the heaviest questions roll, the grimmest circumstances unfold, the subtlest answers spill and the funniest punchlines drop. Although it has a very novel setting, you can almost smell the realness of being. What can be more graceful than two strangers talking their lives away? There is a reason why Before Sunrise (1995), Before Sunset (2004) and Before Midnight (2013) are three of my dearest movies. Yet, neither of the two characters exist. And maybe, just maybe, that’s why they matter.

Sharing some of the bit worth eavesdropping from inside my head…

He: “:)”
She: “Never.”

She: “You know what I hate about myself?”
He: “You mean, other than everything?”

He: “How are you feeling?”
She: “Meaningless. You?”

He: “Hi.”
She: “I strongly disagree.”

He: “Where are you?”
She: “ I’ve reached many conclusions.”

She: “Get advice from all your friends.”
He: “Yes, I spoke to both of them.”

She: “You are so funny.”
He: “I know. I make myself laugh too.”

He: “That’s what science says.”
She: “No, that’s what the scientists believe.”

He: “You don’t talk much, do you?”
She: “No.”

He: “I don’t know where to go.”
She: “Go to sleep.”

He: “What are you into?”
She: “Future.”
He: “Whose?”
She: “Ours.”

He: ”I am a premature ejaculator.”
She: “How come?”

He: “How is this funny?”
She: “I don’t find your question funny either.”

She: “Do you always repeat your mistakes?”
He: “Yeah, yeah.”

He: “Do you need a drink?”
She: “I need a miracle.”

She: “That’s silly.”
He: “Not as silly as breathing.”

She: “What’s wrong with you?”
He: “I love you too.”

She: “You said you lost 5 kg.”
He: “Oh, I found them later.”

He: “I always look grumpy in my photographs.”
She: “Maybe you are always grumpy.”

He: “How are you?”
She: “OK.”
He: “That means you aren’t.”

He: “My existence is pointless.”
She: “And your point being?”

He: “I love wasting my time on you.”
She: “With you, sweetheart. With you.”

He: ”I think I’m dying.”
She: “Good. Now think of something else.”

She: “I love Messi as well as Cristiano.”
He: [trying to impress her] “I am a tax fraud too.”

He: “Why are you telling me this?”
She: “Because I needed to hear it.”

She: “I like responsible men.”
He: [trying to impress her] “9/11 was my idea.”

She: “I love you for us.”
He: “I love you for who you are, not who we can be.”

She: “You suck.”
He: “That was established back in 1999. What’s your groundbreaking addendum?”

She: “Where are you?”
He: “…right where you left me!”

--

--

Shakti Shetty
Shaktian Space

I am a Mangalore-based copywriter and a wannabe (published) writer and I blog randomly about not-so-random topics to stay insane.