You never know!

Shakti Shetty
Shaktian Space
Published in
3 min readApr 9, 2020
During this lockdown, you must have noticed that the food stored disappears at a much faster rate than usual. [Photo by nrd on Unsplash]

They say ignorance is bliss but the greater question is, what are we talking about? If a person doesn’t know what ignorance is, then what’s really left in the equation? I am thinking on these lines keeping in mind the first time — I was in school back then —I heard USA’s defense secretary Donald Rumsfeld make the most bizarre as well as the most enlightening statement. He said, “Reports that say that something hasn’t happened are always interesting to me, because as we know, there are known knowns; there are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns; that is to say we know there are some things we do not know.”

He was obviously referring to the colossal farce called ‘War on Terrorism’.

Anyhow, not a week has passed by since I haven’t thought of those bunch of words.

There are some things you never forget. They are drilled into your psyche. For instance, my tutor once told me that it’s more important to brush one’s teeth before going to sleep than after waking up. That line hasn’t left me and there are many more such nuggets from the past. The summation being, what we know for a fact doesn’t necessarily have to be the fact. What we know for real doesn’t always end up being real. These are different facets of the same mind. What I think of isn’t the same as how I think. Moreover, thinking and knowing aren’t the same either. I think the world is wonderful. I know the world is crappy. And when you throw in the embers of belief, then things get interesting. Believing in something excuses us from thinking as well as knowing. Amazing, isn’t it?

In this ignorant spirit, let me list a few thoughts that lead us nowhere.

  • Darkness might be afraid of you. You never know.
  • Your life might be based on a movie. You never know.
  • Hide your palms from strangers. You never know who can be a palmist.
  • Cherish your imperfections as I might fall in love with them. You never know.
  • Already preparing my speech for Nobel, Pulitzer and Oscars. You never know.
  • Your soulmate might have died by now. You never know.
  • Don’t delete contacts. You never know whom you’ll have to block someday.
  • Life is like a box of lunch. You never know what you’re gonna regret.
  • You could have been a Beethoven if you had a piano. You never know.
  • Things you’re looking for might be looking for you too. You never know.
  • Celebrate harder. You never know when the party is over.
  • Never underestimate the power of anything. You never know.
  • Sentiments can injure themselves at any given moment. You never know.
  • Your brain could very well be your greatest enemy. You never know.
  • Always keep tissue paper and common sense close. You never know.
  • Use your words carefully. You never know when you’ll need them.
  • Smile often. You never know who hates to see that.
  • Your fridge might be hungry too. You never know.

--

--

Shakti Shetty
Shaktian Space

I am a Mangalore-based copywriter and a wannabe (published) writer and I blog randomly about not-so-random topics to stay insane.