Meet Miranda (she/her)

Miranda Dennis
shame[less]: Money Salon
1 min readDec 22, 2020
Photo credit: Edgar Quintero
  • Age: 35
  • Education: Hollins University, (BA in English with Creative Writing), University of Massachusetts-Amherst (Poetry MFA incomplete)
  • Career: Product marketing professional in advertising technology
  • Student loan debt information: Six figures, private and federal loans, equivalent of a 3 bedroom ranch house mortgage in my hometown in Alabama
  • 2021 goals: pay off private loans completely
  • What’s my story? I fell in love with a small women’s college nestled in the Blue Ridge mountains, which came with a price tag. I thought anything was worth getting out of Alabama, and I still believe that. That said, I’ve been ashamed for years of how much debt I have, and what’s important for me now is to change the narrative. I invested in myself, and I should be proud of that, even if it’s a hard journey to pay this debt.
  • Here are a few of my favorite things: making thematic playlists (here’s one about tea), strong breakfast tea, writing poems & essays & fiction (read me here), talking shit about Betsy DeVos, donuts, my elderly tuxedo cat Roxanne

--

--

Miranda Dennis
shame[less]: Money Salon

Writer. Product Marketer. Reformed gorgon. She/her/bog hag.