Summer’s over, thesis begins

Shane Strassberg
Shane-IxD-Thesis
Published in
3 min readSep 7, 2016

I’ve been ruminating about my thesis topic since the tail end of my first year at SVA’s IxD (School of Visual Arts Interaction Design) MFA program. I thought about my path into the design world by way of first studying anthropology, and how I was afforded this opportunity of discovery thanks to the privilege of earning the right to use the GI Bill, as well as the opening of doors for me while on this journey.

I had time — years — to read, study, learn and think about what I would like to make not just a living from, but hopefully a fulfilling career and life out of an area of interest. Now, this wasn’t leisure time. I was working full-time as a NY State Court Officer during my first master’s which took nearly five years to complete because of this fact. I also did serve fours in the Marines before that––deploying twice to Iraq, and earning a Combat Action Ribbon for the Battle of Fallujah in 2004. So this was not the easiest path to get to this point. But, I am here, and thankful that I’ve given myself this opportunity––debt free. However, I still feel melancholic because I know that many people my age, younger and the next generation (which includes my nieces) do not have the same opportunity as myself to fully explore their passions and interests in choosing a path towards fulfillment, unless they put themselves in danger like I did to “earn” this chance. And, that’s from where my idea for my thesis has grown. I do not believe that you should have to be shot at to provide an opportunity to educate yourself in subjects that interest you and not come out of higher education mired in life-long debt.

My initial area of study for my thesis topic will cover education, student debt and self-fulfillment. I plan to research the current student debt crisis, specifically how the problem is being framed and what ideas for solutions are currently on the table. I also will conduct interviews with current higher education students, former students, people considering a return to school and especially young people who are only a few years away from entering college. I hope to better understand how the rising cost of an education has and will affect the choices people make in regards to their education, their careers and ultimately for the rest of their lives.

I don’t know where this initial inquiry will lead or what I will eventually design at the end of this process, but I am excited to begin this journey of discovery with the intent to (hopefully) help solve a huge problem facing so many people in our world.

Image cluster of themes related to my thesis idea

--

--

Shane Strassberg
Shane-IxD-Thesis

Marine Corp Vet + Anthro Grad+ Interaction Design Student+ Small Forward