How Ryan Hawk Writes: Inside the process of the renowned podcaster and author of Welcome to Management

Shane Snow
On Writing and Story
6 min readJan 30, 2020
Where Ryan Hawk, author of Welcome to Management, writes

I wouldn’t mind if we got rid of 99.999% of podcasts out there. But if Ryan Hawk’s The Learning Leader ever went away, I would be heartbroken. It’s the greatest business podcast, hands down. That’s why I was so excited when I learned that Ryan was distilling his wisdom from hundreds of interviews into a book: Welcome to Management.

While he was in the middle of book-launch chaos, he agreed to share his process for my How They Write series. So without further ado, here’s how Ryan Hawk writes:

What rituals, if any, do you have as a writer?

RH: For my morning writing: I stretch and drink water. I light an Archipelago Havana Candle (Thanks to Todd Henry for the recommendation!) and then get to it.

Author and host Ryan Hawk

I’ve learned from other writers to always start and end mid-sentence to avoid seeing the blank page. At the end of a writing session, I type bullet-point thoughts to help me remember where to pick back up the next day.

Sometimes I’ll prime the pump by reading fiction books. I study how the greats launch into a new chapter, and other times I re-read stories that have stuck with me… Like Alex Hutchinson’s opening story in Endure. I was so impressed by his work that I asked him to help edit the opening of my book (and he sent back notes an hour later!). Once I’m sufficiently intimidated by
the brilliance of others, I get to work, challenged and inspired.

Music: I’ve listened to Patrick O’Hearn’s So Flows the Current and Beyond This Moment hundreds of times. There are no lyrics… Just beautifully crafted instrumentals.

What’s your writing toolkit?

RH: Evernote, Google Docs, Scrivener, Google Drive (for audio/video), Google Keep (for articles), and Word. The Notes app on my phone is my go-to for spur of the moment thoughts. I wrote my proposal in Google Docs and then wrote the book in Scrivener.

What was your process for putting together WELCOME TO MANAGEMENT?

RH: I’ve been recording in-depth leadership conversations for my podcast for the past five years, and I’ve recorded more than 350 episodes. Because of the show, I started receiving requests to deliver keynote speeches about four years ago. One of the most common questions I’d get after a speech was, “I’d like to buy your book.” With that said, there are tons of leadership books out there…

It was important to me to offer differentiated value, so I chose to focus on the critical time when people transition from an individual-contributor role to a management position with direct reports. That period of my career was especially challenging. I had been a leader on the football field, but I had no idea what I was doing as a manager in the business world. I know it sounds cliché, but I wrote the book I wish I had when I first got promoted.

Besides trying to set aside dedicated writing time in my office or at the library, I would squeeze it in whenever I could, and I had a mindset of jotting down ideas wherever they came to me.

Inspiration and ideas seem to hit me when I’m moving. I went on a lot of walks while writing this book and I wrote more than I expected while on the elliptical cooling down after a workout.

How did you use the principles of the book in your life (if applicable) while you were writing it?

RH: The entire first section of my book is about “leading yourself.” Some of the key ideas are consistency, discipline, habit formation, and creating rituals. I needed all of that to finish this book on time. I didn’t quit my job or go to a cabin in the woods to write. I was working full time (giving speeches, hosting leadership circles, and advising leaders) in addition to writing the book. If I hadn’t followed a disciplined schedule, I wouldn’t have finished it on time.

Where do you go for inspiration?

RH: I read about incredible people like Orville and Wilbur Wright and how they would take hours to stand on the sand dunes and watch the birds, mimicking wings with their arms, elbows, and wrist bones. If the Wright Brothers had time to stand on dunes (and be called crazy or “a pair of poor nuts” by others), then I certainly need to make time to be a thoughtful person and reflect.

Ryan Hawk, recording the audio book for Welcome to Management

I go on walks with my wife Miranda. Our youngest daughter goes to a preschool about 1.5 miles from our home. We often pack her a snack, walk to pick her up, then walk back to our home while she eats and listens to us talk from her stroller. It’s a great way for us to be outside and spend time together without any distractions. Sometimes we stop and take notes to make sure I don’t forget an idea we came up with. I highly recommend going on regular walks with your spouse. Besides having productive discussions, I think it’s healthy for children to hear their parents talk about ideas with excitement and energy.

I learn through talking (makes sense given what I do for a living), so I often had “writing sessions” with mentors in my life. I would sit in a room with a couple people and type and “talk the book” allowing me to receive feedback in real time (My dad played this role a lot for me).

Who’s your favorite writer, and why?

RH: My current favorite writer is Tim Urban (waitbutwhy.com). I voluntarily pay him for his free articles (through Patreon). I marvel at his ability to take complex ideas and simplify them with such a unique and humorous twist. I’ve sat down at my computer and tried to emulate him hundreds of times but never approached the ballpark where he plays. He has amazing range.

What’s your favorite thing you’ve ever read in your life?

RH: The Carrot Seed by Ruth Krauss. It’s a simple story about the value of working diligently and cultivating your environment for something to grow. I’ve read it with my daughter Charlie many times.

What’s the first book you remember loving?

RH: Dean Hughes wrote a series of 14 books called Angel Park All Stars in the early nineties. These were fictional stories about a baseball team. When I was younger, my primary love was playing sports. I don’t remember reading a lot back then, but I enjoyed those books.

What’s your best piece of advice for writers?

RH: Writing (like a lot of things in life) is a game of repetition. Writers write. If you want to be a good writer, you must practice the skill daily. “We learn who we are in practice, not in theory.” It’s important to think, but it’s equally important to get your thoughts on the page.

Editing the terrible first draft can come later. Don’t worry about how bad it is initially.

Surround yourself with people who are willing to be brutally honest with you and offer feedback.

Understand how to put yourself in the optimal position to express your best ideas. I learned that I write best when prompted by intelligent and interesting people. My “writing sessions” in a room with 2–3 thoughtful people helped produce the best content. Figure out what that is for you, and then create an environment to make it happen.

What do you want written on your tombstone?

RH: Treasured his wife, children, parents, brothers, and friends. Aggressively pursued his passions and curiosity with the intention of always making himself a better person and helping others.

To get these writer interviews as they come out, subscribe to my monthly newsletter, The Snow Report!

--

--

Shane Snow
On Writing and Story

Explorer, journalist. Author of Dream Teams and other books. My views are my own. For my main body of work, visit www.shanesnow.com