How to write like Dan Schawbel, New York Times bestselling author of Back To Human

Shane Snow
On Writing and Story
5 min readNov 11, 2018

--

Where author Dan Schawbel writes

Every month I share an interview with an author, where we dig into writing and creative process advice. This month I’m pleased to feature Dan Schawbel, author of several New York Times bestselling books, and future-of-work genius.

Dan is one of my favorite humans. And that makes me excited about his latest book, Back to Human. It’s about making business and work-life human again, by understanding the changing ways we’re working. This is a topic that connects well with my work on human collaboration.

You can learn more about the book here. Now, on to the way Dan Schawbel writes:

What’s your process for putting together a big writing project like Back To Human?

DS: I’ve been collecting research, conducting interviews, holding conversations and having experiences for many years. I recorded all of this content, which helped me craft a book proposal.

Every morning, seven days a week, I read about the latest trends in my industry and in the economy as a whole. I’ve also conducted 45 research studies including the latest one for the book, in partnership with Virgin Pulse, of over 2,000 managers and employees in 10 countries.

In addition, I interviewed 100 top young leaders from 100 of the best companies in the world (Johnson & Johnson, GE, Uber, Facebook, IBM, etc.) which took three and a half months and over 800 emails and phone calls to get confirmations, recommendations from executives and to conduct the interviews.

I also partnered with Kevin Rockmann, a Professor of Management at the George Mason School of Business, to create the Work Connectivity Index (WCI), a self-assessment that measures the strength of work relationships. At the same time, I was writing the book, which started off as a master outline. From there, I decided to write one chapter per week for the first draft. It took two days to break down each chapter into more specific topics that I wanted to cover, then another few days to incorporate the research study, secondary sources, key points and stories from my interviews.

Then, the final few days was where I pieced the chapter together into a full draft. While I was doing all of this, I was also selling bulk book orders to companies and conferences.

The combination of everything above was challenging, but rewarding and has allowed me to write the best possible book for this phase in my career and life.

How did you use the principles of the book, if applicable, during the process of writing it?

DS: The main message in the book is to use technology as a bridge to human connection, not a barrier. Writing can be very isolating as you know, Shane!

While we are introverts and enjoy “quiet time”, we also don’t want to be lonely and our interactions with others can give us new ideas and topics to respond to in the book. I used the book as a way to connect with top young leaders, capture their stories and build a support network.

I created a Facebook group to update them on the book, and as a bridge to doing meetups with them across the country. I even brought them on book tour by moderating panels with them at conferences. I view media (books, articles, etc.) as a path to meeting interesting people.

What rituals, if any, do you have as a writer?

DS: As a lifelong learner, I have a habit of waking up and answering the question “what’s going on in my world?” by reading for an hour.

By having this habit, I’m able to be a better communicator and advisor to clients. For instance, if I read an important HR article, during a client call or when I speak, I can bring it up, which makes me more relevant and also benefits the audience. I bookmark the articles I read so it saves me time from searching for them in the future.

While it takes me an hour a day, that hour is well spent!

What’s your writing toolkit?

DS: I’m very basic when it comes to my writing toolkit. I use Microsoft Word to write, and Gmail folders to organize interviews and contacts. I wouldn’t say I’m the most organized but this works best for me. I keep everything simple and don’t use new apps and programs for the sake of feeling hip! I stick to the basics and become more efficient every time I write.

It took me about a year to write Me 2.0, 10 months to write Promote Yourself and I wrote Back to Human in about 8 months. Each book was more complex yet took less time because I had a rhythm.

Where do you go for inspiration?

DS: People like you Shane, as well as traveling and conducting my own research. I think you can learn something from everyone. It could be what not to do or what to do more of.

I also believe that traveling helps you become more open minded, put things in perspective and see the challenges others are going through cross-culturally. For instance, I studied Japan and the UK for the book because 30,000 people die a year from loneliness in Japan and every worker gets Monday mornings off for more work life balance. In the UK, 9 million people are lonely, 200,000 haven’t spoken to a close friend or relative in the past month and Tracy Crouch was appointed Minster of Loneliness to solve the 2.5 billion pound loneliness epidemic.

When you find a topic you love, you genuinely want to see how it’s impacting others, not just in your country but everywhere!

What’s your favorite thing you’ve ever read in your life?

DS: The article that inspired my entire career is “The Brand Called You”, written by Tom Peters back in August 1997. I read it 10 years later and it was the validation I needed to pursue the career I have. We are all the CEO’s of our own company, Me Inc.! I re-read the article every year and it becomes more relevant over time.

What’s the first book you remember reading?

DS: The first book I remember reading is Green Eggs and Ham.

What’s your best piece of advice for writers?

DS: The reason why I can write everyday and speak in front of audiences is because I only write about what I’m knowledgeable in and love to talk about. Choose your topic(s) wisely and it will become easier to have a sustainable writing career.

What do you want written on your tombstone?

DS: “Dan Schawbel lived generously”

--

--

Shane Snow
On Writing and Story

Explorer, journalist. Author of Dream Teams and other books. My views are my own. For my main body of work, visit www.shanesnow.com