9/31: Tianzifang

Fernando Mata Licón
Shanghai Living
Published in
3 min readMay 20, 2017

This week I went to have lunch in a popular place called Tianzifang (田子坊) which was also one of the first places where I had lunch in Shanghai. A place where I feel like I belong.

One of the alleys in Tianzifang

It’s a small and old area right in front of one of the biggest malls in Shanghai. Tianzifang is an old residential area constructed in the 30’s in the called French Concession. Around the 80’s the place was old and cheap. The Chinese government planed to demolish it in order to renovate the area in 2006, but the local business opposed and with help of the painter Chen Yifei they stopped the demolishment plans and the renovation of the place started.

Some of the stores were repainted, the floor was changed and reformed in some areas. The electric cables are still visible as part of the cozy feeling of the area. Almost every empty establishment is now back in business.

Tianzifang is one of the last “old” places of Shanghai. The quick growth and urbanization of the city demolished a big part of the old parts of it. Today is a busy touristic place and one of the main places for arts in the city. With theatre plays in English being performed every weekend and different art expositions every week Tianzifang and surrounding areas have become an artists meeting point.

One of the statues at the entrance of Tianzifang

The place has different traditional Chinese and western restaurants and bars all over the small and cozy alleys that form the area. Statues decore some of the biggest pathways to give a traditional and old feeling.

Tianzifang is also one of the places where I feel like I belong. The Airbnb where I stayed my first two weeks were in one of the old houses in the area. The first restaurants that I visited were located here. The rehearsals of my first play in Shanghai took place here. Every time I go I feel like I can find a new alley where to walk and discover new things.

Here I feel like I’m in touch with the old city, with the real Shanghai that’s changing every year. With that city that has more than 900 years existing, and evolving.

One of the main entrances

This story is part of my 31/31 challenge. Following a friend’s idea I will publish at least one story every day for the next month.

If you see any error please let me know, the idea is to stop over-reviewing my stories before publishing them.

If you liked it be sure to show me your love clicking the ❤️ below. And you can also subscribe to my new publications Shanghai Living and Lost Facts.

You can connect with me via Twitter following me at @fernandlicon.

--

--

Fernando Mata Licón
Shanghai Living

Swift Developer. Northern Mexican living in Brooklyn. Avid reader, writer and actor. Lover of random facts and learning new stuff.