Oil On Water

Shelby Hartman
Shantigar Press
Published in
1 min readOct 30, 2016

My mind swirls on top of my intuition like oil on water. We’re supposed to be in this together, self.

No chance.

Mind: You have everything you need.

Intuition: Something’s missing.

Mind: You have everything you need.

Intuition: Something. Is. Missing!!!

Mind: Okay, okay, WHAT?

Intuition: Look inside

I sit in lotus position. I close my eyes. I stare into the darkness.

A gnawing in my gut swells, clawing at my stomach and making its way into my heart. It was there all along.

Nothing happens.

Mind: Why is nothing happening?

Intuition: Just wait

Mind: What does it want from me?!

Intuition: Wait.

Mind: Okay, okay

Minutes turn into days turn into weeks.

I ride into waves of nausea, tension, restlessness, and then, suddenly…calm.

I know what to do.

--

--

Shelby Hartman
Shantigar Press

Associate Editor for PrimeMind. Arts and Culture Reporter. Jazz Vocalist.