Primary vs Secondary practices

Jason Mesut
Shaping Design
Published in
4 min readDec 22, 2018

Coping with the ever increasing set of competencies within User Experience and Digital Design

Example primary practices on the left, with some secondary practices on the right

As soon as i’d started to distil key competency areas for organisations I had an annoying concern. I felt that there would never be a set that is universal across the industry. And yet, it was my personal goal to create one. I think I have failed. Or at least pivoted.

I have come to the conclusion that everyone should be suspicious of any model of design competencies that tries for a universal truth. It’s why I’ve shared so many different tools and frameworks in the workshops I run. And in these medium posts.

The only truth I can believe is that there will never be one single universal truth in this space. I have some similar concerns about career ladders but I might avoid that fight for now.

But I had a bit of a revelation in September 2018 that has helped me feel like I made some progress. It was after a workshop with two of my clients — both heads of design in their org for different teams. We’d set out a series of roles and prioritised different competencies for each of them. They prioritised slightly differently.

Some example core practices for a UI Designer, and some secondary ones

What was interesting was that we debated the relevancy of some areas. Like systems thinking, sound design, and service design. They had different backgrounds and different team needs.

Some example practices for a UX Designer

We worked on a collaborative spreadsheet with other Heads of Design across the teams and started to map out a primary tier of practices. And then a secondary tier. It just emerged. They would prioritise within each still, but there were often 4–8 in the primary tier. And 2–8 on the secondary.

An example spreadsheet documenting different practice priorities

I thought about my own experiences and realised I could put many more in the second tier. Based on my experiences of people I’d worked with and different orgs I’d worked within and for, I knew there was a great deal of diverse skills being missed. But we couldn’t cover everyone.

From the spreadsheet I started developing an initial competency model for my client. I started mapping out some primary practices for specific job titles and then I created a chart to capture Secondary practices.

An early competency map with primary practices (disciplines here) top centre and secondary practices (bottom left)

The primary practices were practices that people with that job title would be expected to be competent in within that org.

An example set of primary practices for a UX Designer

The secondary practices were more specific to them individually. Their previous experiences. Their interest areas. The topics, fields or lines of learning that were important to them but not directly relevant to their work.

Example secondary practices (or fields)

These secondary practices could be relevant to their primary practices or work over time. Like sound design. Or systems thinking. Or psychology. Or even Industrial Design.

I think that using this sort of approach can help celebrate and support the diversity within your team and yet have a core of expected competencies for a given role or title.

Want to find out more, follow the series

If you want to learn more about the Shaping Workshops I run, and what I have learned over the years, follow me, or read some other articles in the Medium Publication.

Keep your eyes peeled for another post tomorrow.

--

--

Jason Mesut
Shaping Design

I help people and organizations navigate their uncertain futures. Through coaching, futures, design and innovation consulting.