REVIEW: Good Gym

Claire Marshall
Share Stories
Published in
2 min readJul 2, 2016

If I could give Good Gym 10 stars I would. It is an organization that is inspiring in it’s mission, but unlike a lot of platforms actually backs it up with a brilliant user friendly experience and a real feel of community.

In fact the only problem with Good Gym is that it isn’t everywhere yet, so in my case I had to travel a bit to find a location. Currently runs are held in Bristol, Hackney, Haringey and Islington. But if you want a Good Gym to come to your area there is a sign up form, so get online and register so there can be more of these wonderful groups.

The website for Good Gym is slick and well thought out. I set up a profile and registered in one click for the run yesterday. Today in my inbox was a run reporthttp://www.goodgym.org/reports/the-problem-of-the-root written by our trainer Simon a tall and boisterous coach who clearly loves his job. There were also photos of us doing our work and some funny pictures of everyone stretching.

I also discovered on my profile I had been ‘cheered on’ by Simon and Danica (one of the more experienced runners). Which may be simply be a clever gamification addition but damn if it didn’t feel nice when I felt sore today.

To join Good Gym is free, but if you are so inclined you can donate £7.95 a month. To be honest if I was staying in London longer I would not hesitate to donate monthly and go on the group runs but I would also sign up for the Coach runs (where you are paired with an isolated elderly person) in a heartbeat.

All in all I can’t say anything bad about Good Gym because it was a fantastic experience. I met some great people, got to sweat and did something selfless which made me feel good. I think this is an amazing organization and if you are in London or Bristol I urge you to get involved.

--

--

Claire Marshall
Share Stories

A transmedia loving, tv directing, film-making, youth culture focused story-teller.