REVIEW: Workaway

Claire Marshall
Share Stories
Published in
2 min readJul 4, 2016

Workaway is a great platform that lets you connect with people who are willing to swap free accommodation for a few odd jobs. The site is pretty easy to use and the cost is $37.50 USD which is about £24 (and you get a free book about how to make the most of the experience).

I found some pretty great opportunities on there, from working in an organic farm, to helping a film-maker with her young kid, to hanging out with a girl recovering from a long illness and just chatting.

They all seemed fantastic and I carefully wrote to about eight opportunities detailing why I thought I would be a good fit. Now I am not sure if maybe my timing was off and these things are usually organized further in advance but I got hardly any responses. Just three from the eight that I sent. None of the opportunities were available, so sadly I don’t have much to write about for this one.

In theory it’s a great idea, and I have to say I am really open to trying again. But or now I don’t have much else to offer. If you have tried Workaway I’d love to hear about your experience.

--

--

Claire Marshall
Share Stories

A transmedia loving, tv directing, film-making, youth culture focused story-teller.