A Silly Little Rhyme

Still, the best looking guy in the room

Don Stouder
Share The Love

--

Cahuilla Elders, by Tim Gilbert

This is a poem for my
husband Tim, whose large and
vulnerable eyes hide behind a
funny and wise book cover,
forward written by the frightened
child who dwells inside turning pages
when no one is looking.

When we met you were so confident
and I thought you knew
you were beautiful and fair
your bright eyes and hair

and I guess you don’t know
that like us all you’re special
but must be told and re-told
until it takes hold
so I’ll be here to tell you,
and hold you when it gets hard,
and maybe grow a little myself

and if you push me away,
don’t be surprised if I stay
because it’s what I’m supposed to do,
and it’s probably what you want too

so I write this for the man
who truly saved my life,
in every way that ever mattered.

This is a poem for my husband Tim,
who is usually
the best looking guy
in the room.

--

--

Don Stouder
Share The Love

Al Gore-trained Climate Reality Leader. Gay, Poz, INFP, Writer, Photographer, Chaplain, Counselor, Pilot, Sailor, Ethicist, Professor, Husband, Father, Friend.