POETRY

Drum Tech

A free verse poetry prompt response to x-files three

James G Brennan
Share The Love
Published in
2 min readSep 3, 2020

--

Pic by Dave DeRose of Author.

My work is one I enjoy, setting up drums, so I’ll
Avoid another job if I can fumbling as I kneel
Deep in thought attaching bass pedal with
Clamp to the bass drum producing a
Noise with a thunderous sound!

To fix assorted styles and sizes of drums, some like
African, some like Turkish all colourfully colliding,
Though some may say they sound just like pots!
Of course, wannabe experts can’t help piping up and
Advising others, I can do this at home with me pans!

It’s not just the setting, fixing and cleaning, each
Part carefully tightened or else the drummer will have a word
Should anything come loose, their confidence is
The key role I play or else I will find myself at
The end of a shitty drum stick and in the
Production office with a warning facing job’s end.

My piece is based on a line from Entombed, written by the wonderful wordsmith Eli Snow. “I’ll kneel, with a sound like colliding pots and pans”

The final stanza is an added response to Martin Rushton’s “dare” to take a line from his intro piece, which is… “each word is at the end”

Read Eli’s insightful Poem here…

This response it to Martin Rushton’s challenge X-files 3 which you can join in here…

Thank you Martin Rushton for this challenge, and, thank you for giving my words a platform here at Share the Love with your wonderful team.
Thank you all for reading and your precious time, especially if you made it this far. J.

--

--

James G Brennan
Share The Love

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.