POETRY

Flanked by Venus and Mars

Free verse poetry inspired floating in the sea

James G Brennan
Share The Love
Published in
Nov 11, 2020

--

Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

Dusk recedes as I lie on my back
In these blessed calm warm waters.
Head to the south as I’m looking north,
Venus shimmers brightly in the west.
A fiery red Mars in the east flickers vivid this night
In a striking celestial sky.

I breathe deep as I float, I sigh, I take it all in
Giving thanks to the universe
As once again my blessings are counted.

I roll forward from my lying position, I dive down
Into darkened water, only, as I move my arms
They light up as phosphorescence surround
My outstretched arms resembling thousands of stars.

A smile stretches across my face.
(Yes, you can smile underwater just don’t panic and swallow.)
My blurry eyes taking in this underwater universe,
A parallel to stars in nights sky, only this has more depth, literally.

I’m on the U.S.S. Enterprise travelling at speed as stars rush by me!

Here is an older night sky influenced piece to read should you feel inclined, also on #Share the Love…

Thank you as always Martin Rushton and the share the Love team for giving my words a platform. 🙏 Thank you all for reading and your precious time. Always. J. 🙏

--

--

James G Brennan
Share The Love

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.