POETRY

Inner Voices

Free verse poetry

James G Brennan
Share The Love
Published in
1 min readSep 27, 2020

--

Photo by Asa Rodger on Unsplash

As I’m picking rubbish up from the sand,
Internal dialogue gives me no peace.
The chitter-chatter growing louder
So I silently yell at them to “shut up!”

They listen not to me, and it seems
To just berate them as the more animated they become.

I try the more relaxed approach,
It seems to be working while I focus
On the task at hand, “good, that’s better.”

I hear a distant voice giving out a criticism,
So I just ignore it, then starts another, and another
Joining in this bitching of a neighbour they find lazy.
I find myself listening in and before I know it
They have dragged me into this awful conversation!

I stop what I am doing and I walk away
Before this gossip gets too much and drives me round the bend.

Thank you Martin Rushton and the STL team for giving my words a platform here at Share the Love. Thank you all for reading and your precious time. Always. J.

--

--

James G Brennan
Share The Love

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.