POETRY

Swimming in Restaurant Light

Free Verse

James G Brennan
Share The Love
Published in
Dec 31, 2020

--

Photo by James G. Brennan.

In evenings still warm waters,
gently swimming through coloured light reflections
emanating from bars and restaurants,
no matter how far, I find myself their pinnacle
while they’re drawn towards my body;
at least that’s how it looks to me.

Swimming to my left,
swimming to my right,
shimmering light following me.

I smile as I lift my hands from the water,
holding them in front of me like a movie hero
or maybe villain commanding all light to me.

I laugh, how daft; it was fun though, let’s do it again tomorrow.

Thank you as always Martin Rushton and the Share the Love team for giving my words a platform. 🙏🙏 Thank you all for reading and your precious time. Always. J. 🙏✨

--

--

James G Brennan
Share The Love

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.