ART | CREATIVITY | DOODLE | RAINBOW

A Rainbow Doodle Painting Tutorial

Who doesn’t love rainbows? Let’s make more!

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Share Your Creativity
7 min readMar 30, 2024

--

A rainbow over the ocean drawn with a doodle style.
Paint pen on 9x12 canvas board. Rainbow Art by Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages

When I came up with the rainbow art prompt for my publication Share Your Creativity, the thing that excited me the most was that I was going to have to sit down and draw rainbows. I don’t know why, but rainbows don’t often make it into my art, though, I truly do love them so much.

After receiving a 30-color set of paint pens in the mail, I couldn’t wait to open them up and try them out. This was the perfect opportunity to do so. Of course, if you were to draw a rainbow, you wouldn’t need to have fancy paint pens to do it. Rainbows can be drawn with any art medium — pencil crayons, markers, watercolor paint, pastels, chalk and any other type of art supply that you can dream up.

But I have been exploring using paint pens lately and they seem to be just the art supply for me. In fact, I have labeled my genre of art as ‘doodle painting’. I dare anyone to argue with me about that! Ha!

I used the Tooli-Art paint pens. They work great and have a nice fine tip. Photo credits: Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages

I’ve decided to lay this article out as a bit of a ‘drawing-a-rainbow’ tutorial. While it was not my…

--

--

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Share Your Creativity

I seek new experiences and share my life as an artist, traveler, foodie, gardener, and serious steward of our beloved planet. Life is short, let's get busy!