ART | WORD ART | CREATIVITY

Creating Word Art

It can be a very therapeutic practice.

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Share Your Creativity
4 min readMay 13, 2022

--

Image created digitally by Author.

When I first rediscovered my artistic voice back in 2006, I was immediately drawn to word art. I’m not sure exactly what the draw is for me, but as a writer, I suppose it makes sense.

Words are power, after all.

Using words to create an image can be quite therapeutic. Usually, I would just start with the word that I wanted, then I would build the design out from there.

In those days I was mostly using ink and watercolor pencil crayons. Here are some examples of a few that I made in various years:

(Note: some have been brightened or altered for printing purposes.)

Live Out Loud. Drawing by Author.

--

--

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Share Your Creativity

I seek new experiences and share my life as an artist, traveler, foodie, gardener, and serious steward of our beloved planet. Life is short, let's get busy!