Flower Pressing to Nurture Creative Energies

Day #31: 100 Happy Days

Purvee Chauhan
Share Your Creativity

--

Image Collage by the Author

Last spring, my kindergartner niece took me to her backyard to pick flowers. She meticulously collected freshly fallen flowers in her basket and came back home to press them in her little flower press. She was so absorbed in placing the pressing plank, the wax paper, the flowers, the wax paper, and another plank again, and again. Never did I expect such rapt attention from a four-year-old. She was totally involved. One should have seen her. Fast forward a couple of days, I prepared hand-made flower-pressed flower frames for my sister and brother-in-law (my niece’s parents, of course) for their 10th wedding anniversary.

The gift (image above): Each of the frames represented 10 different US states they have traveled to. Together, there were over 200 flowers and 50 leaves, which had either been bought or collected from my backyard and hand-pressed. Each of the frames represents states’ flower colors or their terrain and have been designed such that each has its own flavor. What fun this was to make something that symbolizes nothing but love!

And, fast forward a couple of more months, my sister, brother-in-law, and niece gifted us a beautiful flower bouquet. My first thought looking it at was to press them. This spring, I bought a new press (until now I was pressing in notebooks and…

--

--

Purvee Chauhan
Share Your Creativity

It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. ~ The Little Prince