Crochet

From Being A Square To Making Them

Creating unique blankets for charity one square at a time.

kit_carmelite
Share Your Creativity
6 min readMay 18, 2024

--

On top left, a square in progress on knitting needles. On top right, a white skein of yarn with a Tunisian crochet. On bottom left, a large and small-guage round rake loom. On bottom right, a crochet square in progress.
Created by author

Twenty-plus years ago, when my husband and I were dating, his family considered me a square. Compared to them, I definitely was–and I haven’t changed. They accept me as I am and love me dearly. Last month, while visiting us, my brother-in-law said I’m no square now. So I’ve gone from being a square to making squares–tons and tons of squares!

I crave colour; the more, the better. Several people tell me that I have a good eye for blending colours. Most of my crocheted squares contain at least three colours. In this one, I used up some small leftover bits of yarn. Very little yarn gets wasted!

The only time I’ll limit myself to one colour in a square is when I’m trying out a new stitch pattern. Stitch patterns that create a texture work best with light shades of yarn. When you use dark colours, the resulting pattern is less visible. Whether I’m needle-knitting, loom-knitting, doing regular crochet, or Tunisian crochet, my skill limit is squares and rectangles. I’ll make blankets or scarves, never animals, hats, socks, or sweaters.

--

--

kit_carmelite
Share Your Creativity

Married 25 years. Retired SAS programmer from Statistics Canada. Member of Secular Order of Discalced Carmelites since 2008. Love chess..