ART | CREATIVITY | ART PROMPT | MANDALAS

Mandala Lines and Dots

Black gives way to colors

Cathey
Share Your Creativity
5 min readJul 7, 2024

--

Kaleidoscope of color / Image by author

I’m so glad this month’s art challenge is for something that has been near and dear to my heart for a long time: mandalas. Truthfully, I haven’t created anything recently, so most of these photos are from years past. This art prompt makes me feel really inspired, and my sincerest hope is that I can return to my art practice soon.

Freehand flower mandalas circa 2017 / Image by author

How It Started

I started my mandala journey during an ink drawing phase when I became obsessed with black ink pens and doodling. I used different brands, with my favorites being UniPin, Sakura, and Staedtler, and soon amassed a large collection. I first drew semi-freehand mandala-inspired flowers to get a feel for the pen, my stroke pressure, and line steadiness. I used coasters or container lids for the main circles and freehanded the rest. Everything was very spontaneous and organic.

It was beautiful to have an outlet for these random bursts of creativity, but as time passed, I began to challenge myself to see how precise and symmetrical I could make these flowers. I guess you can say I was…

--

--

Cathey
Share Your Creativity

Hi, I'm Cathey. Traveler. Writer. Introvert. Artist. Indigenous. Loves weird music & dark spaces. Daydreamer. Night owl. Novelty junkie. Responds to snacks. ♓️