ART

Message Paintings

Painted Encouragements to Share

Tarrancaldwell
Share Your Creativity

--

Painting by Tarran Caldwell

My Introduction to Medium

Dear Sharing Your Creativity friends, this is my first post on Medium. I have at 79 decided to add writing to my visual art. This has been a challenge for me for a number of reasons.

Needing encouragement I wrote a message to myself. Above is the photo of my Message Painting. Painting by Tarran Caldwell.

This was also a time in my life when I was starting an online art business, which I had no idea how to do, so these new creative adventures were quite a challenge. Enter my need for encouragement. I picked up my brush and acrylic paints and started painting my Message Paintings. These were messages for myself but as people responded to my posts I decided I enjoyed doing them and folks liked them, so I kept painting them to share.

Now I would like to share with you how I created them. The process is simple . There are a few supplies you will need.

A light weight watercolor paper or sketchbook of mixed media paper.

A roll of masking tape.

A small basic set of acrylic paints.

A couple of paint brushes.

One fine line brush and one with a medium size brush tip.

You will also need colored markers. I used Gelli Roll Makers and Sharpie Markers.

These supplies are readily available. Michael’s, Hobby Lobby, Walmart and Amazon all carry these art materials.

You will need a container for water to use with your acrylic paints and some paper towels to wipe your hands and brush on.

You will also need a small plate or palette to set your acrylics on and for mixing colors.

A piece of heavy cardboard to tape your paper on. This will keep your paper from wrinkling when you add water. An optional supply is a glue stick.

You are now ready to create your own Message Paintings to keep or share.

The pens for writing are also for another one of my favorite activities, designing my own alphabet letters. You can go wild with this! I will be writing about this in an upcoming article.

For Believe In Myself, I drew the words out and decided I didn’t like the letter placement. So I cut the words out of my white paper and used a glue stick to paste them down to a bright yellow backing sheet of card stock paper.

The painting and drawings around the letters tie everything together and complete the composition.

Painting by Tarran Caldwell

This second Message Painting is painted by me … Love TLC🩷. For this painting I used light weight watercolor paper. Once again you start by taping it to a backing and let it dry completely before removing the tape. This painting was done on a single sheet of light watercolor paper. The letters can be drawn in first and then inked and painted. Have fun with your colors, here’s a chance to go wild.

I hope you have enjoyed my first post on Share Your Creativity. I “Believed In Myself” and as my painting encouraged me “I Took A Leap”.

The most important part of this is having fun. Enjoy!

I would also like to thank Jillian and Celeste for the encouragement.

--

--

Tarrancaldwell
Share Your Creativity

Mixed media artist…MFA…Also a Great granny. I have spent a lifetime creating and teaching art. I live in the country with my husband David and tiny rescue pup.