Pastel Art

Find out how I got introduced and who inspired its reintroduction

Ali
Share Your Creativity

--

Calla Lillies in soft pastel by author

Person: “Have you ever thought about doing art to help with your pain?”

Me: “No. I’ve never considered it.”

Person: “Well, I have some pastels at home, and I think you should give it a try.”

Me: “Sure, I’ll try it,” after some hesitation.

A few days later, I received a shoe box containing pastels and pastel paper.

Photo of original shoe box by author

I took it home, and it sat on my shelf for months before doing anything. I recall lying on the sofa one Saturday morning. The box was in my line of sight. It was beckoning me to get it. I took it off the shelf and moved it to my table. The phrase on the box “Live Strong” was encouraging.

Photo by author showing different brands and types of pastel inside the shoe box

I didn’t research pastels much but decided to go ahead and draw. The consistency felt similar to chalk. It was a fun experience, and making pastel art soon became part of my routine.

--

--

Ali
Share Your Creativity

Enjoys writing poetry but also creative fiction and nonfictional pieces! Creativity bleeds through me and that includes art!