The Arcane Pleasure of Art That Is Understood by Few

Yilkal Yenealem
Share Your Creativity
3 min readJul 31, 2023
Photo by Jené Stephaniuk on Unsplash

The unique gift of art is its ability to express emotions, ideas, and experiences in a way that transcends language and cultural barriers. Art has the power to evoke deep emotions, spark new ideas, and foster empathy and understanding between people.

It can also serve as a form of catharsis, allowing individuals to process and express complex emotions and experiences.

Artists have the ability to create works that are not only visually stunning but also deeply meaningful, reflecting the human experience in a way that is both personal and universal.

Art also has the power to challenge societal norms and provoke thought and discussion about important issues.

Photo by Dan Farrell on Unsplash

I draw in between tasks. I sketch at the coffee shop before work. I do these things partly because it’s fun and entertaining. But I suspect there’s something deeper going on.

Because when I create, I feel like it clears my head. It helps me make sense of my emotions. And it somehow, it makes me feel calmer and more relaxed.

That made me wonder: What is going on in my brain when I draw? Why does it feel so nice? And how can I get other people — even if they don’t consider themselves artists — on the creativity train?

It turns out there’s a lot happening in our minds and bodies when we make art.

Photo by Kristin Brown on Unsplash

It helps you imagine a more hopeful future

Art’s ability to flex our imaginations may be one of the reasons why we’ve been making art since we were cave-dwellers. It might serve an evolutionary purpose.

It activates the reward center of our brain

For a lot of people, making art can be nerve-wracking. What are you going to make? What kind of materials should you use? What if you can’t execute it? What if it sucks? Studies show that despite those fears, “engaging in any sort of visual expression results in the reward pathway in the brain being activated.

It lowers stress.

Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

Although research in the field of art therapy is emerging, there’s evidence that making art can lower stress and anxiety.

Cortisol is a hormone that helps the body respond to stress. They found that 45 minutes of creating art in a studio setting with an art therapist significantly lowered cortisol levels. And there were no differences in health outcomes between people who identify as experienced artists and people who don’t.

So that means that no matter your skill level, you’ll be able to feel all the good things that come with making art.

It lets you focus deeply.

Photo by Chase Clark on Unsplash

Making art should induce what the scientific community calls “flow” — the wonderful thing that happens when you’re in the zone. “It’s that sense of losing yourself, losing all awareness. You’re so in the moment and fully present that you forget all sense of time and space”.

There is no end to the pleasure and relief you get from art. I wish you all can feel what I am feeling, I have no words to describe it!!!

--

--

Yilkal Yenealem
Share Your Creativity

Whether I am writing short stories, articles, or novels, my work is characterized by a dedication to quality and a passion for the written word.