ART | ARTIST | CREATIVITY | OPPORTUNITY

When Life Gives Me Time to Make Art, I Take It

Finding the perfect balance to being an artist

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Share Your Creativity
7 min readMar 26, 2024

--

A recent drawing I completed to celebrate the arrival of spring. Photo and art by Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages

Hmmmm, the perfect balance. I know that is a myth — there is no such thing in life as the perfect anything. But certain situations do present themselves when it feels like everything falls into alignment. I’m happy to say that I am currently living in that reality right now and am having a ball.

For those who don’t know, 6.5 years ago my partner and I sold all of our possessions to head out into the world to travel full-time. We had no idea what we were going to do, or how we were going to survive but we went anyway.

We are both artists and although we made art back in our conventional lives, it never took center stage. The reasons for this are many, but primarily, we couldn’t make enough from just our art to pay our bills, so we were forced to work other jobs to make ends meet. Of course, there are only so many hours in the day, so making art was relegated to a few hours in the evening when we finished our jobs that paid the bills.

We had friends in our community who were full-time artists. They seemed to live the ultimate life. They had no official ‘jobs’ and were given the freedom to create and build their lives as…

--

--

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Share Your Creativity

I seek new experiences and share my life as an artist, traveler, foodie, gardener, and serious steward of our beloved planet. Life is short, let's get busy!