The one thing successful people have in common

Nicole Alexandra Michaelis
shareddone
Published in
4 min readMar 20, 2018

Day 14/90 — Be unafraid.

A lot of factors can influence if we become successful or not. Our IQ, our emotional intelligence, the sizeof our network, who our parents are, how we look. But — I’ve come to believe that there is one single attitude that is so vital to succeed, that it is found in all successful people to some degree.

Successful people are unafraid.

unafraid / ʌnəˈfreɪd

adjective

feeling no fear

Why are unafraid people successful?

When we’re unafraid, we ask the right questions. We view things from a critical perspective. We don’t shy away from challenge. We speak our mind. We are respectful, but will speak up to people ranked higher than us if we have to. We are open to change. We try new things. We solve problems creatively. We dare to break rules. We dare to make rules. When we are unafraid, we’re brave.

The key to success is to not stop asking. To stay curious. To strive for more and better. Successful people question the status quo. They demand change if they need it. They make change if they can.

If there’s one attribute an entrepreneur needs an extra dose of, it’s being unafraid.

Hi, I’m Nicole, and I’m really unafraid.

It’s funny. I have been dealing with quite some anxiety on the inside. But when it comes to making decisions, I’m extremely unafraid. I give risks the benefit of the doubt. I have perfected bootstrapping a plan B or C when needed. I don’t hesitate. I don’t back off. If I have identified something as a desired outcome, I fight for it.

When I saw that my role at a previous job was inefficient and not managed properly, I fought for a change. When the change didn’t happen, I left. I wouldn’t be where I am today if I hadn’t.

When I wanted to start my own business as a writer despite the fact that I didn’t even know the language of the country I was living in, I started my business anyway. I wouldn’t be where I am today if I hadn’t.

When I wanted to move to another country to study, I did. I put in all the extra hours, extra tests, extra money, so that it would work out. I wouldn’t be where I am today if I hadn’t.

When I got married at 20 and realized it wouldn’t work out, I got divorced (at 21). I wouldn’t be where I am today if I hadn’t.

When I wanted to earn more money, I took extra gigs, boosted my portfolio, learned more, and worked on my attitude — and made the jump to a senior role. I wouldn’t be where I am today if I hadn’t.

When I want something, I work for it. When I need something from someone, I ask for it.

When I fail, I get up. When I succeed, I reflect.

I question success and failure on the same level. Both have provided me with valuable learning throughout the years.

The most important learning for the unafraid

I’ve realized over the years that not everyone can deal with unafraid people. They may not be able to handle the criticism. Or the honesty. The risk-taking. Or the drive. They may simply not understand you, because they can’t relate. That’s ok. People are different.

It’s important to move on if a person like that is blocking your way.

It’s important to not crumble. If you’ve identified something desirable that you believe you can achieve and the only thing that is blocking you’re way is (a manager, a parent, a partner, a coworker) avoid them.

The second most important learning for the unafraid

You will always find people who understand you. Who admire your forcefulness and your drive. Who will enable you to live up to your potential.

Find those people.

It’s the best support you can get.

Success does not equal happiness

I don’t believe success and happiness are the same thing. I don’t thing unafraid people are more happy. Maybe quite the opposite. The drive to keep going, keep improving, keep asking can be an extremely exhausting journey. A never-ending quest for the next level.

In order to be happy, the unafraid person must be able to stop herself. She must be aware of her needs. She must rest and regroup.

Being unafraid is not the most important attribute to become happy. Sometimes it’s in the way.

How unafraid are you?

Want to contribute to shared and done?

Send in your submission via medium or email me.

This is day 14 of 90 days that I will be sharing something I’ve learned here in this publication. Don’t miss it.

--

--