Becoming Fully Immersed in the Sharing Economy

Alayne
ShareRing
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2019

The sharing economy is growing at a rapid rate, predicted to reach $670bn by 2025 (source: PWC). People’s ideas are changing and with growing house prices, pollution and waste the shift is moving from owning products to renting products.

My first experience in using the sharing economy was when I was living in London. Uber was introduced and wow, was it game-changing. It released the power from monopoly car operators, to us, the users. The prices were incredibly cheap in comparison and wait times were significantly reduced. It had revolutionised my thinking and I soon started using the sharing economy in as many ways as I could. Accommodation, bike hire and even renting someone’s dog as I missed mine so much abroad.

Three years later, I was back in Melbourne and ready to not only be a user of the sharing economy, but also a provider. I started renting out my clothing, handbags and shoes turning my closet into a profit. I sold my car, choosing to take full advantage of the sharing economy saving myself over $15,000 in a 12 month period. Not only was I saving money, I was also helping to reduce my global footprint, it was a win-win.

I am extremely enthusiastic to have joined ShareRing, the future of the renting and sharing economies. ShareRing plans to streamline the rental and sharing process, enabling rentals from anyone, anywhere, anytime. Watch this space.

You can see my full interview with News.com.au here.

--

--