Building a Self-Sustainable Lifestyle for the Future

Alayne
ShareRing
Published in
3 min readFeb 7, 2019
Photo by Kat Yukawa on Unsplash

The life of having a fancy sports car and wanting to obtain one reminds me of how in my 20s, I rarely cared of what I necessarily needed in my life and was more focused on the idea to just enjoy it. This meant obtaining happiness for the exchange of using whatever money I had for self-indulgence that wasn’t leading towards a sustainable life, with financial freedom being an ignored idea.

Vacations were plentiful, cooking non-existent, and nights ended with the dawn of light with muffled ears. These were great times in my life, but looking back now, I wish I gave my future more consideration than I did back then. The amount I could have saved for things that would be much more beneficial in the present is something I wish I did, and I believe a lot of people wish they did as well.

Luckily, since the emergence of the sharing economy, we can improve our financial lifestyle by being smarter with our money. We can use the sharing economy to power us a step further and offer us with services we didn’t really have just a decade ago.

We now have many more options now for small or big financial decisions, where it is worth taking a look at sharing assets, renting for a limited time, using peer-to-peer services or partly own an asset to cut down living costs. We don’t need a 5-star hotel for our own pleasure if it isn’t within our means. Now, you can sleep on a rented couch, but if you wish to upgrade a bit, you can have the option to rent a shared room. Just think how much more you can save if you take the couch option!

We don’t have to be masters of self-financial freedom, but it is always nice to have an extra dollar in our pockets through means of being smarter.

Take advantage of the sharing economy, it is here and we can all benefit from it! Once ShareRing is at full force, it is going to benefit us all with even more options to save right at our fingertips.

When Tim first pitched to us the idea of ShareRing, we thought it was a much-needed application for our daily lives and not only is ShareRing going to be benefitting all of us personally, it’s going to help reduce global waste and empower small businesses, especially those that have been struggling to get their assets rented. As a small business owner, I love getting 15–30 orders per day through food delivery companies. I think ShareRing can offer the same for small rental businesses, with much more competitive commission rates and promotional features.

Although I did end up with a 556 horsepower beast of a car in my youth, at this point I am perfectly happy now with a 60 miles per gallon Prius, knowing the other luxuries I may be able to afford will allow me to make wiser financial decisions going forward with many more options to look into without purchasing.

--

--