How to get YSEALI scholarship to USA

Thepachai P. [Nep]
Sharing Citizen
Published in
4 min readSep 26, 2017

--

Hello, I’m Nep. Currently I am community contributor of Young Entrepreneur Assembly Hub in Thailand

[I am YSEALI Fellow “Social Entrepreneurship and Eco. Dev.” @UCONN]

In this article I gonna tell you how to get YSEALI Scholarship by use my experience.

In application process. [State by YSEALI interviewer]

Selection criteria; successful applicants should:
•Demonstrate interest, knowledge, or personal experience in Social Entrepreneurship and Economic Development[For more detail CLICK HERE ];
•Demonstrate strong leadership qualities and potential in their university, place of work, and/or community;
•Demonstrate a commitment or interest in community service, volunteerism, or mentorship;
•Indicate a serious interest in learning about the United States and ASEAN as a region;
•Be willing to actively participate in an intensive academic program, community service, and study tour;
•Have a commitment to return to Thailand to apply leadership skills and training to benefit their community, country, or the ASEAN region; and
•Preferably have little or no prior study or travel experience in the United States.

Tips and Tricks for those who going to apply for YSEALI scholarship. [and also can apply with every scholarship program.]
1.PASSION
In YSEALI program, we want passionate people in that topic [SE,Civic Engagement]
This are the answers how do I demonstrate my passion.
>My passion is to develop Education sector in Thailand
>I have been running/attended various events/seminar/workshop inside and outside university to empower youth in Thailand
>My plan for next 5 years is to have
1.Offline activity
>Events/Seminar/Workshop
>For project management / Career development
To create young entrepreneur ecosystem
2.Online platform
>For share resource and network among 3rd party [Gov/Corporate/University]
>For connected people who have idea and people who looking for support those ideas.

2.Capacity
What is your skill/ability that you have and you can contribute it to your project/work that you passionate in?
>I do have capacity in cross culture understanding.
>I have been 7 countries in this world, have friends across Southeast Asia.
>Network among various University in Thailand/Corporate/Social Enterprise and Startup
>>These will be my capacity that when I have my own project people surround me from various industry that interest to solve the same problem can hang on and join me.

3.Strategy
What you will do after you come back from YSEALI program.
>My plan after graduated is to establish my own Social Enterprise that address youth empowerment issues.
>I probably running events/workshop and seminar in University level + National level to earn experiences/feedback/knowledge/information to analyze and create better tool for solve education problem in Thailand

4.USA culture
Why you want to go USA?
>I do want to explore US culture. I want to know more how’s their daily life, how they work and how they think.
>Share knowledge/capacity when I run my projects.

…..

More tips added by Prae U-lacha [SE fellow @UCONN, 2016]

To convince the judge that you are a qualified candidate, you need to “claim and prove”.

– CLAIM that you have the attributes that they are looking for. Key word is “what they are looking for” not just what you have. You may have some unique talent that you want to tell them. Make it related to what they want as much as possible. If it’s not related, you’d better omit it.

– PROVE that you have the attributes by telling what you have done that shows skills/knowledge/attitude you mention earlier. Use the right verbs that show the attributes straightforwardly. Quantity could help make it more creditable.

For example, you want to convince them you have strong leadership. You were a head of a student activity that may not be well known outside your school. You may write that you “led a team of 25 students to teach students in rural areas” instead of “joined [camp’s name] Camp in Chiang rai”.

However, your application won’t be powerful if it’s not true. Some over-exaggerated application might get you to the interview, but you will be asked about what you really have done. If you are not authentic, you will fail anyway…

Lastly, all credits for the tips go to English Business Writing course taught in Aksorn Chula.

……

*Remarkable point*
This program >> Preferably have little or no prior study or travel experience in the United States.

……….

See you in FB Page: Sharing Citizen

--

--

Thepachai P. [Nep]
Sharing Citizen

Deep Generalist who’s empathy driven and data inform person.