From Fjords to Forks: Discovering Norwegian Food

You, Too, Can Feast Like a Modern Day Viking

Mark Laflamme
Sharing Food

--

An image of the troll at the entrance of Epcot’s Norway pavilion.
The entrance to Epcot’s Norway Pavilion. Image courtesy of the Author.

While I’m continuing with my series inspired by Epcot’s World Showcase in Walt Disney World, I must say that I’ve had the pleasure of visiting the country of Norway, which is today’s stop.

I won’t pretend to know Norwegian culture based on a three-week visit, but my memories are strong. My fondest memory is arriving in Norway, looking in any direction and thinking, “How does anyone ever get any work done around here?”

To say that Norway is beautiful doesn’t even begin to do it justice. It is spectacular!

An image of a Fjord near the Bergen airport in Norway.
An image of a Fjord near the Bergen airport in Norway. Image courtesy of the author.

I could write about Norway’s beauty for days, but this is a food blog, so I will focus on food. Norwegians are not known to eat in restaurants frequently. Still, Norway has fantastic chefs, and you find distinct flavours throughout this country.

The Norwegians were a Viking culture, and they left their mark on most of Northern Europe. Heck, they may even have settled in Canada 500 years before Columbus discovered the Americas.

--

--

Mark Laflamme
Sharing Food

I’m a scientist, critical thinker, and writer passionate about food, travel, wellness, and their interactions..