November Challenge/Food/Photography/Foodie

Sharing My Ten Foods, Ten Photos, Ten Descriptions + Ten Words

Finding humor with my gastronomic adventure at home

Osan Fernando
Sharing Food

--

I’m not a worm, I’m BUTCHERON. The chicken craw, which we called butse is deep fried until crispy. A chicken craw is part of the esophagus where freshly swallowed food are temporarily stored for later digestion. Chicken gizzard is also made this way/ Photo credit; Author

Thinking about what ten foods to share for the November challenge, I told myself – why look far and farther, when the kitchen is only a hand away. Yep, why not!

So, here they are. Ten of the food I encountered while traveling from the supermarket to the kitchen to the dining table.

Let me sprinkle some humor too.

1. Tarator Soup

Baby, it’s cold outside and so are you Tarator Soup.

Photo Credit: Author

Inspired by Jill’s Tarator Soup. I’ve told her in the comment section that I only have almonds for nuts. I gave it a try, Jill.

The result: A success.

There are two revisions that I made. I have no fresh dill. Fresh dill is as rare as a gem here. I used the dried one which I have. I have no walnuts. They are only available from online sellers. Luckily, someone gave me a pack of slivered almonds.

I grated the cucumber and garlic, then add the yogurt, dill, almonds and two drops of olive oil. It’s creamy, so I added water.

The taste is enhanced after two hours in the refrigerator. It’s really good and refreshing.

Next time I will make it, I will lessen the garlic. The aftertaste remained in my mouth the whole day.

The taste is similar to the sauce of shawarma.

2. Tortang Talong

Ta-long and winding road, best way to a dream destination.

Photo credit: Author

Translated as Eggplant 🍆 Omelet.

The boiled eggplant is dipped in a beaten egg and then fried. Minced meat with vegetables can be added. The eggplant can be steamed.

If you prefer an oil-free omelet, using an air fryer is a better alternative. That’s what I did. Aesthetically, it doesn’t look good, a little dry.

Did you know that Tortang Talong was named as one of the best egg dishes in the world by Taste Atlas?

The dish may taste unappealing but dipping it in catsup will have a big difference.

3. Pandesal

Man doesn’t live on bread alone, make it a dozen.

Photo Credit: Author

Comes from the Spanish words Pan De Sal.

It is soft on the inside and a little crusty on the outside. Some can retain their texture even for several days and some became tough if placed in the refrigerator.

The bread we Filipinos call our own. Did you know that the price of pandesal is like our barometer if times are hard or inflation is high?

Some pandesal are bland in taste. Some are baked with moringa, cheese and ube (purple yam).

The best and economical way to eat pandesal is by simply dipping it in hot coffee.

4. Zigzag

Ugh! I have motion sickness, how can it be intestine?

Photo Credit: Author

Zigzag is what we call this street food just like the shape. It’s the barbeque chicken intestine.

Quite bitter. I can say it’s an acquired taste.

5. Jujube

Sweetie, you forgot to put moisturizer on your wrinkled face.

Photo Credit: Author

Jujube is also known as Chinese date and red date.

I have read that it can be grown here. But I have never seen it being sold in supermarkets, much more in a market.

The taste is the bland version of the dates that are commonly available.

In Korea, there are dried jujube in the market. But the inside is just the same as the fresh one.

An Aunt came from the US and gave me a few of jujube.

6. Kimchi

Hey oppa Gangnam style, unnie Kimchi style is very spicy.

Photo Credit: Author

Kimchi is a traditional Korean side dish. It is a mixture of everything: spicy, sour, salty and pungent odor.

Kimchi fried rice is a favorite here. You can try it. There are many recipes available online. But the simplest one is mixing kimchi with rice, toss them until it became fried rice. Scrambled eggs may be added while tossing them or just simply accompany it with a fried egg 🐣.

7. Squash Pie

You don’t need a pumpkin to pump up the volume.

Photo credit: Author

Though I want to call it Pumpkin Pie, it can not be. Pumpkin is not available here. Squash is versatile enough for a pie.

I boiled the squash. Instead of making a puree, I mashed it using a fork giving it a texture rather than being plain smooth.

I only used cinnamon because I have no pumpkin spice at that time. I used crushed graham crackers and butter as the crust. And the result? It tasted like pumpkin pie with a subtle taste.

And…I used an air fryer instead of an oven.

8. Sinigang Na Salmon🐟

Why that face, are you angry? I’m very hungry, eh!

Photo credit: Author

A Salmon head like this is readily available in the supermarket. Sinigang is a sour-based soup.

I used the packed lemongrass sinigang mix, green beans, a local breed of lettuce and ginger to lessen its fishy smell.

The simplest dish to make. Just toss them in the pot all at the same time and wait until it boils.

9. Passionfruit

Having a puckered not a poker face with your sourness.

Photo Credit: Author

The variety of passion fruit that grows here is yellow, more sour than sweet.

With its seedy pulp, it takes a lot of effort to eat it.

I’m not fond of sour fruit. It takes a passion to eat passion fruit.

10. Napjak Fried Dumpling, Perilla Leaf and Gochujang🍃

Don’t dump me dumpling, feisty gochujang will make you red.

Photo Credit: Author

Namjak means flat. This dim sum has tofu and kimchi as fillings.

Gochujang or red chili paste is a savory, sweet, and spicy Korean fermented condiment.

Perilla leaves are minty and nutty in flavor. Thus, complement the spiciness of gochujang.

There is a Filipino phrase being said to those who have so much of K-pop and everything Korean – “kinain na ng sistema”. Meaning – being eaten by the system, the Korean system.

Partly I can say, for me that system is my digestive system 😀.

🍇🍦🍓🍑🍘🥮🥒🥑🥐😀🍯🍡🌶️🐟🥞

I hope you enjoy a gastronomic adventure in my part of the world.

--

--

Osan Fernando
Sharing Food

A wanderer, a puzzle, a scribbler, a dentist who loves to write anything under the sun & travel anywhere without the sun. osannity25@gmail.com