Slovenia: This European Gem Belongs on Your Bucket List

The food is reason enough to visit

Linda Lum
Sharing Food
Published in
4 min readJul 27, 2024

--

All photos by author | no reuse without permission

In the heart of Europe, nestled beneath the Austrian Alps is Slovenia. Slovenia is not one distinct culture or cuisine; this lovely country is truly a melting pot with the influence of her neighbors Croatia, Hungary, and Italy evident in every sweet and savory bite.

I learned this first-hand in 2006 when my family and I visited my cousins Kenneth and Barbara in Stara Fuzina, Slovenia.

Our journey began in Maniago, Italy, the home of my sister. Our rendezvous point with my cousins was three hours away at the airport in Ljubljana, the Slovenian capital. (It was an easy place to find.)

From there we followed Kenneth’s car to Bled (pronounced ‘blett’) and spent a leisurely afternoon with my cousins as our guides. However, one can only take in so much sightseeing without nourishment. Kenneth and Barbara suggested ‘Gostilna Pri Planicu,’ one of Bled’s oldest pubs.

Bled

My silly family shared a pizza. (Why? That’s like visiting Paris and eating at McDonalds).

I chose the Golaž name Ivanke s Trofie testeninami (Grandmother Ivanka’s goulash with Trofie pasta — when in Rome, do as the Romans do, right? And no, I’m sure it has nothing to do with that

--

--

Linda Lum
Sharing Food

I love cooking and writing about food and find inspiration in food history and folklore. Twice Top Writer in Food on Medium.