Tapas, the Most Delicious of Spanish Traditions

But have you ever wondered about the variety of tapas available in Spain?

Nick Howard
Sharing Food

--

Jamon, queso, and pan. All photos by Nick Howard

Imagine this: you’re out to dinner with a group of friends. Before ordering your entrees, you start with a few tapas to share. The table is filled with a colorful array of small plates, each a delightful surprise. The conversation flows as you savor each bite, and the evening takes on a warm, convivial atmosphere.

At this moment, you have an idea of what tapas are. In some bars in Spain, you are provided with small snacks if you order drinks. It may not be a full meal, but it can help soak up several glasses of good Spanish wine. Today, you can find tapa restaurants in Spain and countries where the Spanish have brought this tradition.

On both of my visits to Spain, I enjoyed tapas. Both experiences were different and also included different dishes. This can also be an aspect of tapas, as other regions may have a different spin on the tradition.

My first visit was in 2018, when I spent four days in Madrid. It was a training tour with other educators taking students on tours the following school year. This was also my first overseas trip, which was already an exciting experience. I have already mentioned how I fell in love with the ham, so that I won’t go over it again…

--

--

Nick Howard
Sharing Food

I am an educator and a writer. I write about sports, movies, comics, history, professional wrestling, food, music.