Better late than never: Welcome 2018.

Karla Garcia
Sharing Life
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2018

I can say, with propriety, that my last two years have been very difficult. In fact, it was the most complicated years of my life.

But I prefer to change all these adjectives by: intense.

In 2015, when I decided that I wanted more of the world, I knew this would come with many other responsibilities and difficulties. Maybe I was prepared to leave everything behind but not to receive everything that would come. All the trips, the new friendships, problems, cultural exchange, adventures and, finally: independence. So basically, along with intensity, the word that defines these two years is also growth.

And life becomes different when you start paying your own bills — home, food, medicine. When your concern is with the bare wire of the room or if the gas from the kitchen will hold out until the end of the month. Yeah, the routines change. Sunday was always my favorite day to clean the house and do laundry. Life now is about about work, events, supermarket and a beer and cigarette break in the late afternoon. I just have other responsibilities now, but I still have fun, my family and my really lovely friends. I still have time for travel, for dating and to discovery this amazing world.

I wish I could have all the words to be able to tell quickly what those two years represented. People came, others were gone. In fact, it was a time when I could see the best and the worst of people.

And life keeps on surprising me.

Last year, I was very disappointed by something that I really believed and in the middle of this mess, I started working on something that I really like and that is my everyday basis. I discovered the world of technology — Yes friends, me! I am learning a lot about business, tech, entrepreneurship, code and community, and that’s really amazing!

And now I begin to think about my next challenge, which I do not yet know when or what it’s gonna be.

Maybe I’m thinking well and maybe 2018 will be a year to slow down, to be quiet, to live everything that I have conquered with intensity and growth.

Finally, welcome 2018. Let’s take it easy, no rush, me and you.

A big hug,
Karla.

--

--

Karla Garcia
Sharing Life

About being Brazilian and facing the challenges of the tech industry.