Be welcome, smart changes.

Karla Garcia
Sharing Life
Published in
2 min readJul 19, 2017

I’m Brazilian. I learned Spanish without ever having gone to a language school. Let’s say I’m fluent in Spanish, but I also make mistakes. The truth is that I only make these mistakes, for convenience. People forgive my mistakes and I consider it OK to continue like this.

When you’re a Brazilian speaking Spanish, it’s like a show. “She speaks Spanish in such a cute way” or “You can speak Portuguese with me, I understand you” — even when I am speaking Spanish in a very understanding way. Being Brazilian is a plus. I do not know many countries, but all the Latin countries in which I have been, I could feel that all the sins of a Brazilian can be forgiven, just for being a Brazilian.

I love Spanish. I tried to study French for 2 years, and I can not speak more than Excuse Moi. But the Spanish, I do not know, I just have this connection.
But in fact, I use a lot of English to work. Say for about 60% of my activities and 90% of my negotiations specifically. I also learned English randomly, just like that, learning. I’m not fluent, and different than Spanish, I never had much forgiveness for my linguistic errors in English. It made me demand more of myself.

I live in Montevideo, Uruguay. I work with a startup that creates solutions for technology companies. I work in a technology coworking, with people who breathe technology. Well, this market has never been my fortress. I’ve always been a disaster and totally uninformed about this industry, but basically, it was because of out a lack of interest. And the question is, how did I get here?
Well, there is no magic answer to everything that happened. Just happened. I am discovering an incredible world, different concepts and way of thinking and seeing things.

See you!

--

--

Karla Garcia
Sharing Life

About being Brazilian and facing the challenges of the tech industry.