A Hard Choice

Vivek sekhadia
Sharing Our Story
Published in
3 min readOct 9, 2022

One time I was studying for a test and my friend wanted to play a game and kept on calling me. I told him to stop but he kept on calling and calling me and was not letting me focus on my studies. He has done this before and I had been hesitant on playing with him. I thought about it and thought: Wait is he bring me up or down? Then I realized he had been bringing me more down in my goals and in life than up.

Finally after thinking for so long and having a roller coaster of I motion I remember how my god had told me to keep only good company and get rid of bad company. Finally after realizing this I understood that I should not be his friend and I blocked him and didn’t talk to him after that. With this I was really able to connect this choice with my spirituality. I learn the value of keeping good company from my spiritual practice.

I knew that my friend was hurting my studying so I did not interact with him when it came time to studying. With this I was proud that I was able to end a bad friendship. The take away from this is that we should always stay with good company and stay away with bad company because bad company will always hurt us and bring us down in life. So the next time you ever think about it you should be friends with someone think if they will bring you up or down in life.

Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

There is many stories in my life where my religion and spiritual practice has helped me push through. It had helped me with school and with relationships with friends. I might not always make the right choice but I will immediately know if I made a mistake. This way I will be able to actually reflect on my poor choices if I make them and understand them. I will also be able to think about how next time if a decision like this comes by what would be the right choice to make.

One time, I had decided to still be friends with a friend who was distracting me from studying and spending time on things I enjoyed. Then I would have most likely had to have made the same decision again when he tried to distract me again. I would have had many and many more chances to reflect and think and most likely eventually made the right choice and stop being friends with him. Then right after that I will actually have kinda a relief after I stop being friends with him because now I don’t have to first of all keep on getting called by him. Next I will not have to keep on thinking over and over if I should be his friend or not. In this way I will be able to kind of feel more calm in my life. All in all, my spiritual practice has helped me succeed in life in numerous ways, big or small. Think about something or someone that has given you the virtues and try to look to see if your choices have been good or bad as well. Thank you for reading this article about my religion and how it has helped me succeed many times in my life.

--

--