Changing Perceptions

Pratham Patel
Sharing Our Story
Published in
2 min readOct 17, 2022

I never put a tilak chandlo on my head whenever I am going to school in fact I never even apply it on a day-to-day basis. I always think what people will think or say about me if they see me with a tilak chandlo on my forehead. They will think that person is weird.

One day my mom told me go to school with a tilak chandlo on your forehead I was like not why? What will people think? My mom said nothing will happen and if someone ask why you have that on your forehead reply with courage and say this is what my religion says to do.

The orange U looking shape is called the tilak and it represents the holy lotus feet of God and the red dot looking shape is called the chandlo that represents the bowed head of a devotee of God. So, once I reached to school, I saw my friends were playing basketball I joined them and as I was waiting in line for my turn.

One of my friends came up to me and asked me what is that on our forehead? I told him that the orange U looking shape is called the tilak and it represents the holy lotus feet of God and the red dot looking shape is called the chandlo that represents the bowed head of a devotee of God. He was like cool I like it!

At that point in my head, I was thinking really did he just say he liked it? I couldn’t believe it! I smiled with pride!

Once school was over I went home and told my mom guess what you were right someone did ask me what was on my forehead and I told him what it meant he said it was cool and that he liked it! My mom was like see I told you people will like it!

Photo by Taylor Flowe on Unsplash

--

--