Hit Into Reality

shil
Sharing Our Story
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2022

A perfect Saturday afternoon. A cool breeze wafted through the neighborhood. We stood on the apron of my friend — Anuj’s driveway. My other friend, Chintan was throwing a tennis ball from across the cul-de-sac. My eyes didn’t leave the ball as it zipped towards Anuj’s bat. He wound up and hit the ball with all his might.

CRACK.

My nose turned purple and pointed to the left. The Sun went dark and I stumbled home seeing spots. I remembered little after the walk home, but I received surgery and for months, I went to the Otolaryngologist.

I remember waking up in the Emergency Room, and thinking about watching my favorite cartoon. I didn’t think about my nose and who broke it because assigning blame wouldn’t have changed anything. It was easiest to accept it and move on. However, I didn’t just learn this by myself. I learned it from my Guru, Pramukh Swami Maharaj. He forgave everyone for every situation that he ever faced.

Once, a person came to see Pramukh Swami Maharaj in London. He swore and yelled at Swamishri. Yet, Pramukh Swami Maharaj had no trace of anger on his face. Pramukh Swami Maharaj said nothing, and after exhausting his rage, the person became silent. Swamishri instructed the attendants, “See that he is served lunch before he leaves.”

To this day, I have attempted to not blame anyone for anything. And this is only because of the forgiveness that Pramukh Swami Maharaj exemplifies. So next time you find yourself throwing blame, remember that without forgiveness, you will never go anywhere.

--

--