To all my fellow Indians

Sharik Khan
shariquekhan11
Published in
2 min readSep 1, 2017

I’ve been keeping a close eye on the current political scenario of India. But somethings have taken place in the past few weeks that has caused me to take stock of things, and I feel compelled to set all things aside and speak from the heart to you, my fellow Indians. Before making the final decision to issue this statement, I consulted with many of my colleagues, friends, and well wishers, and as you’d imagine, more than a few of them warned me about the risks associated with speaking out in such a direct way on a topic as controversial as this one. But I’m putting all that to the side in the name of courage. If my statement today costs me my capital, I’m willing to live with that. If it costs me my job, I’ll return to a secluded life knowing that I was willing to risk it all and put my rapport and my career on the line by speaking my personal truth. Like it or not, this has to be said. Someone has to stand up and speak truth to power. I can’t stay silent because someday, I want my future children to be able to look back in the past at this moment and know that their father had the courage to stand on the shoulders of the great leaders in human history. I want my parents to know that their son lived his life with the courage and moral determination of the likes of Mahatma Gandhi. I want my friends, cousins, and well-wishers to know that their brother refused to stay low. So here goes … deep breath … I’m going to do it. The hell with caution, the hell with worrying about the risks. The hell with worrying about what they say about me on Facebook. I’m more worried about what they say about me in the history books. Let historians write that someone had to have the personal conviction to take a stand; to look the people right in the eye and speak say what needs to be said. And, yes, that someone is me. Ladies and gentlemen:

‘Yeh bik gayi hai Gormint!’

--

--