changing faces

trey butta
3 min readApr 2, 2015

by: Arthur Reese

Going away for college has really helped mature me. I have grown up in multiple ways since being at Shaw. One way that I have grown up is that I realized how valuable school is and how important it is to do well in school. I’ve learned how to live on my own and how to manage my time. Time management is important when it comes to college. Also I have matured in some ways being around mature people.

When I first got to Shaw I was a little shaky on getting to class on time. I met friends who helped me get on track, helped me with my homework and overall all our grades went up. One time I was playing basketball and they stopped me and reminded me I had homework to do. Once they did that I realized that school was about getting your work done and doing what you came to school to do.

Before I came to Shaw I didn’t have rules to abide by, I was living by myself with my own vehicle. I was living an adult life basically. When I got here I got hit with so many rules and stuff that was hard to deal with. I miss having my own Wi-Fi at the house and being able to cook for myself. Some of these rules are for the better though, like visitation rules. If I had visitation I wouldn’t be as focused in school like I should be. Also the rule of being quiet after a certain hour helps me do my work and focus more at night.

What I do enjoy about Shaw is that it is in the middle of downtown Raleigh. There are a lot of things to do and a lot of sights to see. It is a very historic area with great surroundings. On Wednesday Shaw has some called “chicken Wednesday”. Every Wednesday we have fried chicken. That is the day the café is the most packed because we go to an hbcu and everyone loves fried chicken. That is always a day to look forward too. The people at Shaw are honestly the funniest people I have ever met in my life. I really have never gone a day at Shaw without laughing. I’m glad that I get to go to school in a friendly environment.

environment.

In all Shaw has made me an entirely different person. All the bad habits that I had are now broken. A lot of the stuff I wouldn’t have done in my old days I would do now, and a lot of the stuff I used to do I wouldn’t do now. Shaw has honestly matured me to be a better person.

--

--

trey butta

its more than a game, this is a passion. #ballislife always in the gym..live above the rim!! R.i.p grandad R.i.p uncle david ! #OGK #shawu18