Erika Jordan
3 min readMar 31, 2015

My Experience At Shaw

Since I have been at Shaw I have learned that you have to be more independent. I had to learn to get up by myself to go to class there is no one to make me go to class. Being at Shaw I have learned to like my freedom, friends, gospel choir, and the people that I work with in the library. I have learned that I am more of a hot head meaning that when I’m mad I have a tendency to say whatever’s on my mind. I've learned that I often quote scriptures when things don’t go right. I have learned that as a student you have to put forth more effort to be more successful. I see that there are more obstacles this semester than last semester.

About 3 weeks ago I had a test but the teacher gave us plenty of time to study for it. But I didn't study until a few minutes before the test. Long story short I didn't do well on the test. I started to study the material for the mid-term exam which was the same information that was on the previous 2 test. Somehow I remembered the information without really studying the information. I came to college to better myself and I knew that you have to have an education to go farther in life. Just getting a high school diploma was not going to be enough and only jobs you could get would be fast food restaurants and dead end jobs.

My mother always told me you need an education. My mother is my biggest supporter and always encouraging to do well. She always would say she wanted more for her children than what she had for herself. I am the first of fourteen grandchildren to go away to college. It’s two under me one went to community college and the other one is in her last year in middle school. I know that my family is rooting for me to do well.

Sometimes I feel a lot of pressure to do well because I don't want to let my family members down. I know I don't always do what I am suppose but I know that if I was to fail now I would never forgive myself.

The things I miss at home is my home cooked meals. I also miss working, I know I work in the library but I miss getting paid every two weeks instead of once a month. I miss being able to sit in my mothers and grandmothers lap an comfort me when I am down.

Being at Shaw has been an wonderful experience. If it was one thing that I would change it would be to take this opportunity more seriously. I would go to classes more and be more attentive. I would try to make more of my college experience.